Sign in
Download Opera News App



Society COVID


State Governments In South-west To Reopen Schools For WASSCE

The six states in the southwest have decided to reopen schools in August to allow finishing students to write their (WASSCE), West African Senior Secondary School Certificate Exam.

The six states are Ogun, Lagos, Ekiti, Ondo, Oyo, and Osun.

The commissioners for education in the states as well as special advisers on education and (SUBEB), State Universal Education Board have come to a conclusion, at a virtual conference coordinated by (DAWN), Development Agenda for Western Nigeria Commission.

They decided on the necessity of the states in south-west to execute a 2016 plan to organize an examination body from the region which is similar to (IJMB), Interim Joint Matriculation Board in the north.

An announcement by the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria Commission explained that the states in south-west will reopen the schools for SS3 students on the 3rd of August with COVID-19 preventative regulations being put in place.

DAWN announced that the states will get in touch with the federal government to pursue a deferment of the date of exams by at least 3 weeks from the required date of resumption.

The states would later get in touch with WAEC to pursue a deferment of the date of examination to the first week of August 24.

On reopening of schools, they announced that schools are to elect incident executives and classroom managers, while there will likewise be a selection of quality assurance offices for every state to administer a certificate of safety compliance to every school before they reopen.

Content created and supplied by: Temmyabbe (via Opera News )

Lagos Osun State Universal Education Board WASSCE Western Nigeria Commission


Load app to read more comments