Sign in
Download Opera News App



Society COVID


WASSCE 2020: South-west States To Resume School

Amidst the Coronavirus pandemic, the six Southwest states (Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Ondo, Osun and Ekiti) foreshowed readiness to reopen schools for students to sit for thier WAEC examination. This was concluded after a meeting on Tuesday by the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria also known as DAWN. It was in collaboration with the South West commissioners, special advisers on education and State Universal Basic Education board.

It should be noted that the Federal Government of Nigeria had on July 8, revoked it's prior decision on reopening schools for JSS 3 and SSS 3 to write thier final year exams.

The director general of the Commission, Seye Oyeleye, on Wednesday made a report after the forum have deliberated on this huge decision after undoing critical analysis, that state government have showed readiness to allow thier students sit for the Nationwide examination.

He urged states to approach the Federal Government at a first instance to seek the postponement of the exam by at least 3 weeks from proposed resumption on August 13. They should also seek an extension from the WAEC board in writing the WAEC examination.

Content created and supplied by: Invicta04 (via Opera News )

Ekiti Lagos Seye Oyeleye South West Southwest


Load app to read more comments