Sign in
Download Opera News App



Secondary Education


Secondary School With 33 Boys As Pioneer Students And Just Two Members Of Staff To Guide Them

Lagelu Grammar School, Ibadan was founded by the defunct Ibadan District Council on January 27, 1958. The School which had its first site at the then Agugu District Council Primary School admitted 33 boys as pioneer students with two members of staff to guide them.These two pioneer staff were then founding principal, Mr Ayo Labiyi and Mr. Roland Olaifa who were teachers, between themselves taught the students such subjects like English Language,Mathematics,Literature,

Geography, Latin and Bible knowledge.

The physical infrastructural development of Lagelu Grammar School was achieved with an initial take off grant of 18,000 pounds under the guidance and supervision of the founding Principal, Ayo Labiyi.

It is instructive to note that the Mato family in Kobomojo area of Ibadan was gracious enough to allow the acquisition of the 25 A res of land on which Lagelu Grammar School was built. Lagelu Grammar school is a school of history which had produced many great people among which are Late Senator Isiak Ajimobi, current deputy Chairman of CBN Adebayo Adelabu and so on.

Kindly share this article with people out there.

Content created and supplied by: Walix (via Opera News )

Ayo Labiyi Ibadan Kobomojo Mato Roland Olaifa


Load app to read more comments