Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Specialized Institutions Established By The Military Administration Of Olusegun Obasanjo

According to the National Board for Technical Education, there are thirty six specialized institutions that have the approval to offer National Diploma (ND) programs in Nigeria. Twenty four of these schools are owned by the federal government. Eight out of the institutions were established by the military administration of Olusegun Obasanjo (OBJ) between 1976 and 1979. These institutions were shared equally between the Northern and Southern regions of Nigeria. Let us see highlights of the institutions.

Two of the specialized federal ND-awarding institutions established by were cooperative colleges which were founded in 1976 in Kaduna and Enugu States. They are designated Federal Cooperative College, Kaduna (FCCK) and Federal Cooperative College, Orji-River (FCCO) respectively. For logistic reasons, FCCK only took off in 1979. Both colleges offer National Diploma and Higher National Diploma (HND) in Banking and Finance, Cooperative Economics and Management as well as Computer Science.

Obasanjo's government also established three Federal Training Centres (FTCs) at Ilorin in Kwara State (1976), Enugu (1977) and Maiduguri in Borno State (1978). This institutions were established to improve the training and output of clerical and secretrarial staff in the civil service. These institutions now run National Diploma programs in Business Administration, Computer Science, Office Technology Management and Public Administration

Another specialized institution founded under the military regime of OBJ is the Nigerian Navy Finance and Logistics College. The institution was established to train officers of the Nigerian Navy in the areas of accountancy, finance and logistics. This particular institution has a complex history. When it was was established in Calabar in 1976, the institution was named Nigerian Navy Supply School. In 1987, Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida (IBB) relocated the institution to Sapele (now in Delta State) and rechristened it Nigerian Navy Logistics Training Centre. IBB again moved the institution in 1991 to Owerrinta in the newly created Abia State. The school has another name change to Nigerian Navy Finance and Logistics College in 2013. There are currently three ND programs in the institution namely Business Administration, Accounting and Office Technology Management for only men of the Nigerian Navy.

The NBTE also claims that the Nigerian Army School of Finance and Administration was founded in 1978. The last specialized institution credited to the military government of OBJ is the National Water Resources Institute (NWRI), Kaduna. The institution was established in 1979. Today, the institution offers ND and HND in water resources engineering.

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

Federal Cooperative College Kaduna National Board for Technical Education National Diploma Olusegun


Load app to read more comments