Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Check Out The State With The Highest Number of Public Universities

From data available on the website of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Delta State now has six public universities.Two of the universities belong to the federal government while the state government has the remaining four universities. 

The federal universities in the state are the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun and Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko. The universities that belong to Delta State Government are Delta State University, Abraka; University of Delta, Agbor; Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro and Dennis Osadebe University, Asaba. 

Federal University of Petroleum Resources (FUPRE) is the first federal university in the state and first Petroleum-focused university in Africa. It was established in March, 2007 and began full academic programs the following years. The university is shared infrastructure with the Petroleum Training Institution until it moved to its permanent site in 2010. The other federal university in the state, Nigerian Maritime University received NUC accreditation in 2018. This university began academic programs at its temporary site in Kurutie town (Warri South West Local Government Area)

Three of the four universities owned by the state government were accredited by the commission in 2021. The first university in the state is Delta State University (DELSU), Abraka. DELSU was established in 1992 (shortly after the state was created from old Bendel State in 1991). Apart from the main campus has campuses at Oleh and Asaba. The Asaba campus of DELSU has now been upgraded to an independent university called Dennis Osadebe University, Asaba (one of the newly accredited universities in the state. The University of Delta, Agbor is upgraded from the former state-owned College of Education in Agbor. Finally, the Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro is rising from the ashes of defunct Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro.

Both Agbor and Asaba are in the Northern Senatorial District of the State; Abraka is in the Central Senatorial District while Ozoro is in the North. The state now effectively has universities in all districts.

The only state that comes close to Delta in the number of government universities is Ondo State which has four public universities.

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

Abraka Agbor Delta State Federal University of Petroleum Resources National Universities Commission


Load app to read more comments