Sign in
Download Opera News App



Do You Know That Nobel Peace Prize Winners Receive $1 Million, Diploma Award And A Gift?

Nobel Peace Prize is an annual prestigious prize awarded separately in six different fields (physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, economics, and the promotion of peace). It is given to those who have made the greatest benefit or impact to humankind in the preceding year. What many don't know is that the prestigious award comes with three mouthwatering gifts, which includes $1m, a gold medal and a diploma award.

Each laureate receives a gold medal, a diploma, and 10,000,000 SEK (Swedish Krona) in monetary award, which is equivalent to $1m. In 2016, the Nobel foundation made the addition of the gold medal and diploma to the prize money.

The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901, the Peace Prize for that year was shared between Frédéric Passy (French) and Jean Henry Dunant (Swiss). Winners are decided by members of Swedish learned societies or the Norwegian Parliament (in the case of the peace prize). Nigeria has produced only one Nobel prize winner in the person of Professor Wole Soyinka in 1986.

Content created and supplied by: teshap (via Opera News )

Diploma Nobel Peace Prize


Load app to read more comments