Sign in
Download Opera News App



Secondary Education


School updates: Southwest states fixes resumption date for students

The six Southwest states (Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Osun and Ekiti states) have agreed to reopen schools for final year students in secondary school to participate in the West African School Certificate Examination [WASCE] scheduled for August 4th to September 5th.

Their decision is contrary to the position of most of the 19 northern states, which supported the government decision to suspend school activities for final year students due to the covid-19 pandemic.

The federal government had outlined last week that Nigeria schools will not be participating in the upcoming WASCE because of safety issues.

But at a meeting held by the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria [DAWN], commissioners and SUBEB chairmen today reached an agreement to revive schools for final year students to write their examinations.

A statement by the DAWN indicated that all the six states will reopen schools for final year students by August 3rd with covid-19 safety measures followed.

Also according to the statement, the six states will approach the government to seek postponement of the WASCE from the agreed resumption date to August 24th.

Each state is to issue a safety compliance certificate to each school before reopening and also encourage advocacy campaigns to guardians, teachers, school owners and students on what is expected of them when schools resume.

If this article was really helpful, kindly hit the follow button and don't forget to share with family and friends.

Content created and supplied by: Egbunine (via Opera News )

Ekiti Lagos Nigeria Osun Oyo


Load app to read more comments