Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Here Are The Newly Approved Private Universities In The North Central Zone Of Nigeria

Data obtained from the National Universities Commission (NUC) gas revealed that nine out of the twenty private universities granted operational approval in 2021 are located in the North Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria. Three of these new universities are located in Kwara State while Nasarawa and Plateau states have one each. Niger State abd Abuja have one apiece. Let us explore these nine institutions.

Thomas Adewumi University (TAU) is one of the three new universities located in Kwara State. Located at Oko-Irese near Omu Aran, this university is founded by Dr Thomas Adewumi, an engineer that got all his post graduate degrees Imperial College of Science and Technology, London. TAU currently has fifteen academic programs across three faculties under the leadership of Kolade Luke Ayorinde, a Professor of Animal Science.

Ahman Pategi University (APU) is located in Patigi, about two hours drive from Ilorin, Kwara State. The institution which occupies about two hundred hectares of land was founded Aliyu Bahago Ahman-Pategi a former member Of House of Representatives. The pioneer vice chancellor of the university is Mahfouz A. Adedimeji, a professor of English Language.

The third private university given operational approval in 2021 in Kwara state is the University Of Offa (UNIOFFA). The proprietor of UNIOFFA is Dr. Rasak Omoniyi Oyewale. The institution currently runs fifteen courses across 15 faculties under the headship of Professor Raheem Lawal.

Ave Maria University (AMU) is one of the two newly approved universities in Nasarawa State. It is located in Kari local government area of the state. AMU is founded by Ave Maria Foundation and its current vice chancellor is Reverend Father Anacletus Nnamdi Odoemene who is a professor of Theology.

Mewar International University is the second newly approved private university Nasarawa State. It is the first Indian university in Nigeria. The chancellor is the incumbent Emir of Keffi.

Karl-Kumm University is Located in Vom, Plateau State. It is one of the two newly approved universities in the state. The university belongs to the the Church of Christ in Nations (COCIN). The structures of the university over an expanse of 40.8 hectares of land are getting close to completion. The school will most likely take of in the next one year.

ANAN University, Kwall (ANUK) in Plateau State is the flagship university of the Association of National Accountants of Nigeria (ANAN). It is established as a postgraduate institution for accountants. The current visitor of ANUK is Professor Muhammad Akaro Mainoma, the president of ANAN. The institution currently runs programs in three colleges under the leadership of the acting Vice Chancellor, Professor Musa Inuwa Fodio.

Only one of the new universities is located in Niger State and it is Edusoko University, Bida (EUB).  Interestingly, it is the first private university in the state.

Abuja also has a share of the new universities. This is Philomath University which is located in Kuje. The institution currently has two faculties. It is headed by Professor Ernest B. Izevbigie, the former vice chancellor of Benson Idahosa University.

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

Ahman Pategi University Kwara State National Universities Commission Niger State Thomas Adewumi


Load app to read more comments