Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Colleges Where You Can Obtain University Degrees In Nigeria

One thing that many admission-seeking candidates are yet to realize is that you don't necessarily need to be directly admitted into university for you to be awarded a degree of the university. University degrees can also be obtained by schooling in institutions that are affiliated to the university. For instance, there are currently nine institutions in Nigeria whose affiliations to University of Ibadan (UI) have been approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC). Two of them are colleges of education while the remaining 7 are seminaries and colleges of theology. Let us take a glimpse at each of these institutions.

Osun State College Of Education, Ilesa is one of the colleges of education owned by the state government of Osun. It was established in 1977 as Oyo State College of Education. When Osun was excised from the old Oyo State in 1991, the school was rechristened Osun State College of Education. This institution currently offer twenty academic programs leading to the award of UI degrees. Interestingly, the current provost of the institution, Professor L. K. Kazeem obtained his higher degrees from UI.

The second institution where you can obtain UI degrees is St Augustine’s College Of Education Akoka, Lagos. This college was originally established in 1971 as National Institute of Moral and Religious Education.

 In 1974, it secured affiliation with the university of Ibadan. The college currently award UI first degrees in six programs.

Nigeria Baptist Theological Seminary (NBTS), Ogbomoso is one of the seminaries that are affiliated to the premier university in Nigeria. It got affiliated to UI in 1970 and currently awards Bachelor of Religious Education.

Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu is a catholic seminary. The institution which became operational in 1924 currently awards UI's Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy.

SS Peter And Paul Seminary, Bodija in Ibadan is another catholic seminary with affiliations to the university of Ibadan. The UI linked programs are Religious Studies and Philosophy.

Archbishop Vining College Of Theology, Akure was established in 1917 but became an autonomous theology institution in 1983. The school currently awards UI's Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies.

Immanuel College of Theology And Christian Education, Samonda in Ibadan was established in 1958. The school however I secured affiliation with UI in 1986. University of Ibadan is now responsible for awarding Bachelor of Arts Degree (Christian Studies) to graduates of Immanuel College.

ECWA Theological Seminary, Igbaja (ETSI) is located in Kwara State. The institution got affiliated to Nigeria's premier university in 1994. Currently, UI is responsible for the award of Bachelor of Arts (Christian Religious Studies) in ETSI. 

UMCA Theological College (UMCATC), Ilorin is one of the schools of theology that are affiliated to the University of Ibadan. The The institution was established in 1956 by the United Missionary Church of Africa (UMCA). Like other theological seminaries, UI awards Bachelor of Arts (Christian Religious Studies) to graduate of the school.

There are other institutions that have affiliations to other universities. Degrees of Adeyemi College Of education, for example, are awarded by Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife.

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

Nigeria Osun Osun State College Of Education Oyo State University of


Load app to read more comments