Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Check Out The State-Owned Polytechnics In Oyo State

There are currently four state-owned polytechnics that are approved by the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) in Oyo State. They are The Polytechnic, Ibadan; Adeseun Ogundoyin Polytechnic, Eruwa; The Oke Ogun Polytechnic, Saki (TOPS) and Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology, Igbo Ora

The Polytechnic Ibadan is the oldest state polytechnic in the South West geopolitical zone of Nigeria. The institution was established on August 7, 1970 sharing boundaries with the University of Ibadan. These satellite campuses were located at Eruwa, Esa Oke, Iree and Saki.  The institution currently runs dozens of Higher National Diploma (HND) and National Diploma (ND) programs under the leadership Kazeem A. Adebiyi, a professor Industrial Engineering. He is also a Fellow of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (FNSE).

Adeseun Ogundoyin Polytechnic, Eruwa (AOPE) was originally established as the Eruwa campus of the Polytechnic Ibadan in 1987. It was however converted to a full-fledged polytechnic during the administration of Governor Abiola Ajimobi. In 2013, the institution received accreditation of NBTE under the name Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa. The institution however got a change of name to Adeseun Ogundoyin Polytechnic in 2020. The current Acting Rector of the institution is Akinteye Adewuyi (PhD). 

The Oke Ogun Polytechnic (TOPS) is located in Saki. It is one of the corner campuses of the Polytechnic Ibadan that have become autonomous. The institution gained its autonomy in 2013 under Governor Abiola Ajimobi. TOPS currently have 25 ND and 22 HND programs. 

The fourth state-owned polytechnic in the state is the Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology (OYSATECH), Igbo Ora. The institution was originally established as Oyo State College of Agriculture, Igbo Ora in 2006. The school was accredited to run as a polytechnic by the NBTE in 2018. The institution currently has more than 20 ND and HND programs. In 2019, the institution was listed as among higher institutions that are meant to benefit from Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND). The current provost of the institution is Professor Gbemiga Adewale.

What do you think about this article?


Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

Eruwa Esa Oke Igbo Ora Oyo State Polytechnic Ibadan


Load app to read more comments