Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


40 Accredited Federal Universities And The Year Established

Presently, there are Forty (40) Federal Universities, Forty four (44) States Universities and Seventy four(74) Private Universities in Nigeria. But in this article,our focus is on accredited Federal Universities in Nigeria.

Federal Universities are the Universities that are owned, managed ,surpervised, and financed by the Federal Government.

The body responsible for the accreditation of Universities in Nigeria is the National University Commission (NUC). Any University in Nigeria that is not certified and approved by the National University Commission is not qualify to provide tertiary institution.

The Federal Universities that had been fully accredited and approved by the National University Commission are as follows :

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi |1988

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria | 1962

Bayero University, Kano |1975

Federal University Gashua, Yobe | 2013

Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta | 1988

Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun | 2007

Federal University of Technology, Akure | 1981

Federal University of Technology, Minna | 1982

Federal University of Technology, Owerri | 1980

Federal University, Birnin Kebbi | 2013

Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State | 2011

Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina | 2011

Federal University, Gusau Zamfara | 2013

Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State | 2011

Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State | 2011

Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State | 2011

Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State | 2011

Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa | 2011

Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State | 2011

Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State | 2011

Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike | 2013

Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola | 1981

National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos | 2002

Nigeria Police Academy Wudil | 2013

Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna | 1985

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka | 1992

Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife | 1962

University of Abuja, Gwagwalada | 1988

University of Agriculture, Makurdi | 1988

University of Benin | 1970

University of Calabar | 1975

University of Ibadan |1948

University of Ilorin l1975

University of Jos l 1975

University of Lagos l 1962

University of Maiduguri l 1975

University of Nigerians,Nsukka l 1960

University of Port-Harcourt l 1975

University of Uyo I 1991

Usmanu Danfodiyo University l 1975

The tuition fees of Federal Universities are very cheap when compared with the States and Private Universities.They are  also more given recognition .So, enrolling in a Federal University enables you to take good advantage of opportunity in a workplace.

Please,do comment and share to your friends.

Content created and supplied by: JamesOmo (via Opera News )

Abeokuta Bauchi Federal Federal Universities National University Commission


Load app to read more comments