Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Federal Colleges of Education With The Highest Number Of Degree Programs

According to the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), there are currently twenty seven federal colleges of education in Nigeria. These colleges have the mandate to award Nigeria Certificate in Education (NCE). However, some of them have got affiliations with approved universities in order to award degrees. Data obtained from Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) show that there are currently twenty three federal colleges of education with this type of affiliation but only seven of them have more than fifteen affiliated degree programs.

The first among them is Federal College of Education, Pankshin (FCEP). This college was established as Federal Advanced Teachers College (FATC) in Pushit, Plateau State. It was however relocated to its current location a couple of years later. This is institution became a college of education in the early 1980s. Today, FCEP is affiliated to the University of Jos (UNIJOS) for its twenty three degree programs listed in the current JAMB brochure.

Adeyemi College of Education (ACE) is the second among this category of colleges. It was established in 1963 as an Advanced Teachers College (ATC) in Ondo Town. It was later upgraded and christened after Cannon Adeyemi, a foremost educationist. In addition to its conventional NCE programs, ACE has twenty degree programs in affiliation to Obafemi Awolowo (OAU), Ile Ife.

Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri (AIFCEO) is one of the foremost colleges of education in Nigeria. It was established as an ATC in the first republic. It was however upgraded to a college of education during the military regime of Yakubu Gowon. It currently offers twenty degree programs in affiliation with University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN).

Other degree awarding institutions in this category is Federal College of Education, Zaria which offers eighteen courses under Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) and Federal College of Education (Technical), Akoka which is affiliated to University of Benin (UNIBEN) for its seventeen degree programs. We also have Federal College of Education (Technical) Umunze, and Federal College of Education, Kontagora which offer sixteen degree programs respectively with Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK) and Ahmadu Bello University (ABU).

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

ATC Advanced Teachers College Cannon Adeyemi Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board Nigeria


Load app to read more comments