Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


Check Out The Only State With Three Federal Degree Awarding Institutions In Nigeria

Kaduna is the only state that has three federal degree awarding institutions Nigeria. It is home to the first university in the North, the first defence academy in West Africa and the first air force institute in Africa. Let us take a look at these degree awarding institutions.

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) is one of the federal degree awarding institutions in Kaduna and the first in the entire Northern Nigeria. The law establishing the university was passed by the House of Assembly of the Northern in 1961. It however opened in 1962 with four hundred and sixty students that spread across fifteen departments. In the latest edition of Webometrics ranking, ABU emerged as the seventh best university in Nigeria and the best in Northern Nigeria. Today, the university has hundreds of programs across thirteen faculties.

The second federal institution accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC) in Kaduna is the Nigerian Defence Academy (NDA). This institution which was established in 1964 was meant to train officer cadets from the Army, Navy and Air Force. In 1985, the NDA received NUC accreditation to run first degree programs. Today, it is the flagship defence institution in Nigeria and runs twenty four undergraduate programs across five faculties. It also has Master of Science (MSc) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) programs in some departments.

The third federal government owned degree awarding institution in Kaduna State is the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT). It was originally established 1977 to provide personnel of the Nigerian Air Force with training in aircraft maintenance, armament technology, communication and automobile maintenance. It underwent name changes from Technical Supply School (TSS) in 1977 to Technical Training Wing (TTW) in 1979. It was further renamed Technical Training Group in 1983. In 2008, it got its new name and got expanded scope of awarding National Diploma (ND). It received NUC accreditation to run under graduate and post graduate programs in 2018. AFIT currently has five faculties across science, engineering and humanities

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )

Ahmadu Bello University Kaduna NUC National Universities Commission Nigeria


Load app to read more comments