Sign in
Download Opera News App



Health Living


Disease prevention and treatment

Types of Hypertension that Can Be Experienced

Hypertension, commonly known as high blood pressure, is a chronic medical condition characterized by elevated blood pressure levels. There are several types of hypertension that you should be aware of. Here are some of the main types:

Primary (essential) hypertension: This is the most common type of hypertension, accounting for about 90-95% of cases. Primary hypertension develops gradually over time and has no identifiable cause. It is often influenced by multiple factors such as genetics, age, obesity, diet, and lifestyle.

Secondary hypertension: Unlike primary hypertension, secondary hypertension has an underlying identifiable cause. It is usually a result of an underlying medical condition or certain medications. Common causes include kidney problems, hormonal disorders, thyroid disorders, adrenal gland tumors, certain medications (such as nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs), and illegal drugs (like cocaine).

Malignant (accelerated) hypertension: This is a severe form of hypertension characterized by a rapid and significant increase in blood pressure. It can cause organ damage and is considered a medical emergency. Malignant hypertension typically affects individuals who already have high blood pressure and is often accompanied by symptoms such as severe headache, blurred vision, chest pain, shortness of breath, and neurological symptoms.

White coat hypertension: Some individuals experience elevated blood pressure readings only when they are at a healthcare provider's office, leading to a misdiagnosis of hypertension. This condition is known as white coat hypertension or white coat syndrome. It is thought to be caused by anxiety or stress related to the medical environment.

Isolated systolic hypertension: In this type of hypertension, only the systolic blood pressure (the top number in a blood pressure reading) is elevated, while the diastolic blood pressure (the bottom number) remains within normal range. Isolated systolic hypertension is more common in older adults and is often associated with decreased elasticity of the arteries.

Resistant hypertension: Resistant hypertension refers to high blood pressure that remains above target levels despite the use of three or more antihypertensive medications. It may be caused by factors such as non-adherence to medication regimens, underlying medical conditions, or lifestyle factors.

Gestational hypertension: This type of hypertension occurs during pregnancy and is characterized by elevated blood pressure without the presence of protein in the urine. If left untreated, it can progress to preeclampsia, a serious condition that can affect both the mother and the baby.

It is important to note that hypertension is a complex condition, and sometimes individuals may have a combination of different types. It is essential to work with a healthcare professional to accurately diagnose and manage hypertension based on individual circumstances.

Essential Hypertension: Also known as primary or idiopathic hypertension, essential hypertension is the most common type. It doesn't have a specific identifiable cause but is influenced by various factors such as genetic predisposition, age, lifestyle choices, and environmental factors.

Secondary Hypertension: Secondary hypertension occurs as a result of an underlying health condition or certain medications. Some examples include kidney disease, hormonal disorders (such as hyperthyroidism or Cushing's syndrome), adrenal gland tumors, certain medications (such as nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and oral contraceptives), and sleep apnea.

Malignant Hypertension: Malignant hypertension is a severe and rapidly progressing form of high blood pressure. It is characterized by very high blood pressure levels (systolic pressure above 180 mmHg and diastolic pressure above 120 mmHg) and can lead to organ damage. Immediate medical attention is required for this potentially life-threatening condition.

White Coat Hypertension: White coat hypertension, also known as isolated clinic hypertension, refers to elevated blood pressure readings that occur only in a medical setting, such as a doctor's office. It is believed to be caused by anxiety or stress associated with the clinical environment. Outside of medical settings, blood pressure levels return to normal.

Masked Hypertension: Masked hypertension is the opposite of white coat hypertension. In this condition, blood pressure readings are normal in a clinical setting, but they rise to higher levels outside of the medical environment. Masked hypertension is often undetected and can increase the risk of cardiovascular complications if left untreated.

Gestational Hypertension: Gestational hypertension occurs during pregnancy and is characterized by high blood pressure that develops after 20 weeks of gestation. It can increase the risk of complications for both the mother and the baby if not properly managed. Gestational hypertension can resolve after delivery or progress to preeclampsia.

Preeclampsia: Preeclampsia is a serious condition that affects pregnant women. It is characterized by high blood pressure, proteinuria (presence of excess protein in urine), and often involves damage to multiple organ systems, such as the liver and kidneys. Preeclampsia requires close medical monitoring and may necessitate early delivery of the baby.

It's important to note that hypertension is a complex condition, and a person may have a combination of these types or experience changes in their condition over time. Proper diagnosis and treatment are crucial for effectively managing hypertension and reducing the risk of complications. If you suspect you have high blood pressure, it's essential to consult a healthcare professional for an accurate diagnosis and appropriate management.

Content created and supplied by: Blizztnews (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments