Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Society


Crime Justice



Prominent Nigerians Who Were Charged During The Regime Of Sani Abacha

On 17 November 1993, Abacha overthrew the short-lived transitional government of Chief Ernest Shonekan. Below are Prominent Nigerians Who Were Charged During The Regime Of Sani Abacha:

1. Olusegun Obasanjo

Olusegun Obasanjo was accused in the alleged 1995 coup attempt by the regime of late Head of State, Sani Abacha. Obasanjo spent three years in prison before his release in 1998, following the death of Abacha. He was initially sentenced to death before another military panel set up by Abacha reduced the sentence to 30 years and again to 15 years.

2. Ken Saro-Wiwa was a central figure in the struggle to stop the devastation of the Niger Delta, which continues to be polluted by large scale oil extraction. Saro-Wiwa was arrested in 1994. The pretext for his arrest was that Saro-Wiwa had incited youth to murder four Ogoni politicians. He was later executed in 1995.

3. Musa Yar'Adua

Yar’Adua who served as the Chief of Staff during Mr Obasanjo’s 1976 - 1979 military government, died on 8 December 1997 while serving his own 25-year jail term in Abakaliki prison.

Content created and supplied by: Anike (via Opera News )

Abacha Ken Saro-Wiwa Nigerians Olusegun Obasanjo Saro-Wiwa


Load app to read more comments