Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

ECOWAS And The Military Coup In Guinea Bissau.

The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional group of fifteen countries, founded in 1975. Its mission is to promote economic integration in "all fields of economic activity, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural matters.

The 15 members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo. The main goal of ECOWAS is to promote economic cooperation among member states in order to raise living standards and promote economic development. ECOWAS has also worked to address some security issues by developing a peacekeeping force for conflicts in the region. ECOWAS established its free trade area in 1990 and adopted a common external tariff in January 2015.

In west Africa bloc ECOWAS has decided to suspend Guinea following a recent coup in the country, Burkinabe Foreign Minister Alpha Barry said Wednesday after a virtual crisis summit.

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) will also send a mediation mission to Guinea on Thursday, Barry told reporters in Burkina Faso’s capital Ouagadougou.

The move comes after Guinean special forces led by Lieutenant Colonel Mamady Doumbouya seized power on Sunday and arrested president Alpha Conde, sparking international condemnation.

Conde had come under increasing fire for perceived authoritarianism.

The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) promotes unity and democracy in Africa, the group is an advocate of a peaceful transition of government, through free and fair elections. The groups obviously frowns at anything that has to do with violence and authoritarian government, and as such could hardly give their support towards s military government in Africa.

This is however not the first time that the Economic Community Of West African States is suspending a country for a military government, it once occurred with Mali, Ivory Coast and Senegal during their military governments. ECOWAS has also conducted a lot of peace keeping missions in different countries of West Africa.

Content created and supplied by: FrankChukwu (via Opera News )

Burkina Faso ECOWAS Economic Community Of West African States Guinea Bissau


Load app to read more comments