Sign in
Download Opera News App



The Seven State Universities With The Highest Number Of Accredited Programs In Nigeria

Record obtained from the National Universities Commission (NUC) puts current the number of state universities in Nigeria at fifty four. Detailed check on the accreditation results of the universities as obtained from NUC shows that there only seven state universities with more than sixty accredited undergraduate programs.

The institution with the highest number of NUC accredited programs is Delta State University (DELSU), Abraka. This school was established in 1992 by Felix Ibru, the first executive governor of the state. DELSU currently has seventy two approved courses with four of them having interim accreditation. 

Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Ago Iwo is the second on the list. The university was founded as Ogun State university (OSU) in 1982. This makes it the oldest university in the state. It was however renamed after the first ececutive governor of the state in the early 2000s. OOU currently has sixty six programs with full accreditation and one program with interim accreditation.

Lagos State University (LASU) is among the most accredited state universities. LASU is one of the few universities with female vice chancellors. It currently has a total of sixty accredited courses. Three of these are interim. These programs are spread across its campuses in Ojo, Epe and Ikeja. 

The fourth university in the list is Ekiti State University (EKSU). This school was originally established by the government of old Ondo State. After Ekiti was created, the university was rechristened University of Ado Ekiti. Governor Kayode Fayemi however changed the schools name to Ekiti State University. EKSU currently has 65 fully accredited programs.

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) is also in this list. The institution was named Oyo State University at inception. After Osun was created out of old Oyo State in 1991, the school was named after Samuel Ladoke Akintola and it came under joint ownership of both states. According to a Premium Times news report, the ownership of the institution was handed to Oyo State by mutual agreement. Currently, LAUTECH has 62 programs with full accreditation and one program with interim accreditation.

Ambrose Alli University (AAU), Ekpoma is the first South-South university in this list. It has 62 accredited courses.

Niger Delta University (NDU) is one of the three universities owned by Bayelsa State. NDU has 61 accredited undergraduate programs.

Content created and supplied by: ABIJFA (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments