Opera News

Opera News App

Another award in history: see lists of the 2020 headies awards winner.

By Derille | self meida writer
Published 2 days ago - 28047 views

Over the years, they have not only managed to produce lovely songs, but has also succeeded in steling our hearts. Finally guys, we get to see the end of the show and I must confess, it was worth our time. So here are the list of the winners who did not only take the awards but also earned it, hundred thanks to their fans.

Hosted by Nancy isime and Bovi, the show was attended by a lot of Nigerian celebrities like Wizkid, 2baba, Sound Sultan, Fireboy, Idia Aisien, AY, AQ, iLLBliss, Bad Boy Timz, Omah Lay, Mayorkun etc. Even though the show started earlier than we expected, we cannot help but notice the COVID-19 measures that was put in place, with masks everywhere and sanitizers. Do you know that at the show, a representative of Lush hair and extensions was going to give any lady with the best hairdo a sum of 250,000, with a year supply of the extensions?

I ought to have attended! (Seriously)

OK, so Fireboy DML led the way with five wins including Album of The Year for his sophomore album, Apollo while Wizkid won two awards including Artist of The Year. We should have seen this coming, fireboy was nominated for 9 categories, like wow.

Best Recording of the Year

Ozymandias – Brymo.

Smile – Wizkid ft. H.E.R.

Wonderful – Burna Boy.

Dreamer – Fireboy DML.

Ghost Town – Wurld.

Best Pop Single

Billionaire – Teni.

Nobody – DJ Neptune Feat. Joeboy and Mr Eazi.

Lady – Rema.

Fem – Davido.

Joro – Wizkid.

Skeletun – Tekno.

Song of the Year

Fem – Davido.

Nobody – DJ Neptune Feat. Joeboy and Mr Eazi.

Joro – Wizkid.

Mafo – Naira Marley.

Duduke – Simi.

Producer of the Year

Pheelz – ‘Billionaire’ by Teni.

Spax – ‘Away’ by Oxlade.

Kel P – ‘Pull Up’ by Burna Boy.

Sarz – ‘Mad’ By Sarz and Wurld.

Best Rap Album.

God’s Engineering – A-Q.

Illy Chapo X – Illbliss.

YPSZN2 – Psycho YP.

Cult! – Paybac Iboro.

The Erigma II – Erigga.

Best R&B Album.

Laughter, Tears and Goosebumps – Fireboy DML.

I Like Girls With Trobul – Sarz & Wurld.

King – Praiz.

Boo of the Booless – Chike.

Celia – Tiwa Savage.

Best Alternative Album.

Yellow – Brymo.

Lucid – Asa.

The Light – Bez.

Pioneers – DRB Lasgidi.

Roots – The Cavemen.

Best Pop Album.

Apollo – Fireboy DML.

African Giant – Burna Boy.

A Good Time – Davido.

Woman of Steel – Yemi Alade.

Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold.

Best Music Video.

Eli – Fireboy DML.

1 Milli – Davido.

Smile – Wizkid.

Billionaire – Teni.

Shekere – Yemi Alade.

Best R&B Single

Under the Sky – Praiz.

Duduke – Simi.

Mad – Sarz & Wurld.

Bad Influence – Omah Lay.

Tattoo – Fireboy DML.

Dangerous Love – Tiwa Savage.

Best Collaboration.

Know You – Ladipoe ft. Simi.

Nobody – DJ Neptune ft. Joeboy and Mr. Eazi.

Sweet In the Middle – Davido ft. Naira Marley, Zlatan and Wurld.

Don’t Call Me Back – Joeboy ft. Mayorkun.

Totori – ID Cabasa Feat. Wizkid and Olamide.

Get the Info – Phyno ft. Phenom and Falz.

Best Rap Single.

OGB4IG – Reminisce.

Shut Up – Blaqbonez.

Country – Illbliss.

Get The Info – Phyno, Falz and Phenom.

Bop Daddy – Falz ft. Ms. Banks.

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Ghost Town – Wurld.

Forgive– Chike.

Under the Sky – Praiz.

Plenti – Cobhams.

What Makes You Sure – Nonso Amadi

Count On You – Johnny Drille 

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

No Longer Beneficial – Simi 

One on the Outside – Lindsey Abudei 

Addicted – Niniola 

Chi Efo – J-Dess 

Lai Lai – Yemi Alade 

Ajala – Imanse 

Next Rated


Omah Lay


Bella Shmurda

Headies Revelation

Victor AD

Fireboy DML





Lyricist on the Roll



MI Abaga – Trinity




Best Street-hop Artist

Mayorkun – Geng

Reminisce ft. Olamide and Naira Marley – Instagram

Rudeboy – Audio Money

IVD and Zlatan – Bolanle

Olamide – Pawon

Best ‘Alternative’ Song

Corner – Lady Donly ft. VanJess & The Cavemen

I Wonder – Moelogo

Bitter – Deena Ade

Anita – The Cavemen

Money Devotion – Gbasky

God Save The Queen – Olu

Album of the Year

African Giant – Burna Boy

Apollo – Fireboy DML

Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold

Yellow – Brymo

Boo of the Booless – Chike

Artist of the Year

Burna Boy




Tiwa Savage

African Artist Recognition

Master KG

Kuami Eugene

Sauti Sol

Shatta Wale


Headies’ Viewer’s Choice


Omah Lay

Burna Boy


Fireboy DML


DJ Neptune


Rookie of the Year


Alpha P



Bad Boy Timz

Songwriter of the Year

Simisola Bolatito Ogunleye (Simi – Duduke)

Adedamola Adefolahan (Fireboy DML – Dreamer)

Damini Ogulu (Burna Boy – Way Too Big)

Stanley Omah Didia (Omah Lay – Bad Influence)

Sadiq Onifade (Wurld – Ghost Town)

Adekunle Kosoko (1 Million – Davido)

Finally guys, that very much marks the end of the 2020 headies award. Looking forward to 2021!

Content created and supplied by: Derille (via Opera News )


Opera News is a free to use platform and the views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the author and do not represent, reflect or express the views of Opera News. Any/all written content and images displayed are provided by the blogger/author, appear herein as submitted by the blogger/author and are unedited by Opera News. Opera News does not consent to nor does it condone the posting of any content that violates the rights (including the copyrights) of any third party, nor content that may malign, inter alia, any religion, ethnic group, organization, gender, company, or individual. Opera News furthermore does not condone the use of our platform for the purposes encouraging/endorsing hate speech, violation of human rights and/or utterances of a defamatory nature. If the content contained herein violates any of your rights, including those of copyright, and/or violates any the above mentioned factors, you are requested to immediately notify us using via the following email address operanews-external(at)opera.com and/or report the article using the available reporting functionality built into our Platform



View all comments