Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Battle Royale: Tinubu, Atiku, Peter Obi, 15 Others Fight For Presidency

The day has finally arrived after a four-year wait; Nigerians will vote today in a general election that promises so much. After months of campaigning, 18 candidates from various political parties are vying for the highest office in the land, that of the president.

Eighteen candidates have entered the race, although commentators predict the race will be between the candidates of the ruling All Progressives Party and Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Peoples Democratic Party candidate Atiku Abubakar, a former vice president, and Labour Party candidate Peter Obi, a former governor of Anambra State.

For Tinubu and Atiku, the election may be their final opportunity. The former vice-president is 76 years old, while Tinubu, also known as "City Boy," is 70 years old. By the next election cycle, they will be 80 and 74 years old, respectively.

2027 will be too late for Tinubu and Atiku to run for president in a nation that is growing increasingly aware of the age and agility of its leader. Obi, who is 61 years old and represents the youth's hope as a relatable individual, has offered the largest challenge to the current quo.

Atiku, who served as former President Olusegun Obasanjo's deputy from 1999 to 2007, will vie for the presidency for the sixth time in this election. He was unsuccessful in 1993, 2007, 2011, 2015, and 2019.

Tinubu will seek the presidency for the very first time in the 2023 presidential election. In 2007, the former senator left office as the two-term governor of Lagos State. He is credited with leading the coalition that ousted the PDP from power in 2015, and in recent years he has expanded his influence beyond the South-West region.

Obi served as Anambra's governor from March to November 2006, February to May 2007, and June 2007 to March 2014. In 2019, he was nominated as the vice-presidential candidate for the PDP with Atiku. Obi ran as a running mate for the PDP in 2022, but defected to the LP in May 2022 to become its presidential nominee.

Dumebi Kachikwu of the African Democratic Congress; Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria People's Party; Kola Abiola of the People's Redemption Party; Omoyele Sowore of the Africa Action Congress; Adewole Adebayo of the Social Democratic Party; Malik Ado-Ibrahim of the Young Progressive Party; Prof Christopher Imumulen of the Accord Party; Prof Peter Umeadi of the All Progressives Grand Alliance;

In addition, the list includes Hamza Al-Mustapha of the Action Alliance, Sani Yusuf of the Action Democratic Party, Nnnadi Osita of the Action Peoples Party, Oluwafemi Adenuga of the Boot Party, Osakwe Felix Johnson of the National Rescue Movement, and Nwanyanwu Daniel Daberechukwu of the Zenith Labour Party.

Content created and supplied by: Sheriff_Words (via Opera News )

Battle Royale Labour Party Nigerians Peoples Democratic Party Peter Obi


Load app to read more comments