Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Buhari signs state assembly, judiciary independence bill, 15 others into law.

Buhari signs the document at the State House, AbujaDeputy Speaker of the House of Representatives and Chair of the House Committee on Constitution Review Idris Wase (APC, Plateau) said President Muhammadu Buhari had signed 16 constitutional amendment bills.

Mr Wase, in a statement on Friday, commended the President for approving the bills, which he says will give states more power.

The State Houses of Assembly and State Judiciary Financial Independence Bill is one of the bills signed into law by the President.

Other bills signed by the President relate to the removal of the railroad, prison and electricity from the exclusive legislative list to the concurrent list.

Mr Wase said four of the bills will help meet the call for true tax federalism.

“Essentially, four of the bills deal with devolving powers/promoting genuine federalism. And also strengthening the State Houses of Assembly and Judiciary.

The Deputy Speaker also congratulated the members of the 9th National Assembly for their tireless work to ensure passage of this legacy legislation.

Content created and supplied by: BRIGGSIRUE (via Opera News )

Buhari Financial Independence Bill House Committee House of Representatives Muhammadu Buhari


Load app to read more comments