Sign in
Download Opera News App



Real reason why 7 PDP states dropped suit challenging Tinubu's victory

Seven PDP states Including Akwa ibom , Taraba , Adamawa , Edo, Sokoto,Bayelsa and Delta states have dropped a lawsuit seeking to challenge the Victory of the All progressives Congress Candidate Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu in the presidential elections .

The reason for the discontinuance can be summarised as;

1. A winner had already been announced thus making it the preserve of an election tribunal.

2. A lawsuit had already been instituted by the PDP at the election tribunal .

The suit which was instituted by the attorney general of the 7 States and presented in court by their counsel Mike Ozekhome SAN , sought a review of the results of the 25 february presidential elections .

However the suit was discontinued recently by the counsel who said the suit had to be discontinued due to the fact that the flawed results have already been announced , although it was illegal and unconstitutional.

The Senior Advocate of Nigeria speaking further said the the matter had already become an election petition or tribunal matter and thus the suit had to be discontinued.

This is coming on the heels of the recent lawsuit instituted by the Labour party and the people's democratic party both of which were instituted at the election tribunal on Friday the third of March .

Content created and supplied by: Ethnoreligiouswordsmith (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments