Sign in
Download Opera News App



CAF AWARDS: Asisat Oshoala Of Super Falcons Makes History With 5 CAF Women's Best Year Award.

Despite picking up an injury against the Bayana Bayana Babes of South Africa which ended her campaign in the 2022 Women's Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco, Asisat Oshoala has made Nigerians proud by becoming the first ever player to win the Women Africa Best Player Award for a Record of 5 times.

She shared the highest number of Awards earlier with a fellow Nigerian, Perpetual Nkwocha who also won the Award 4 times but she has eclipsed her with a 5th award.

The first time she won the award was in 2014 and then she won it twice in a row in 2016 and 2017.

Ahe then misses out in winning the award in 2018 but reclaimed it in 2019 when it was last awarded.

She has also stamped her claim as the greatest female footballer of all time in Africa by clinching the 2022 edition even though many may say that she is not a match for the likes of Perpetual Nkwocha and Oparanozie but, there is no way she is not up there with the very bests in Africa and in the world.

What are your thoughts on her achievements so far?

Content created and supplied by: MichaelNC (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments