Sign in
Download Opera News App

Pets Animals




The 4 endemic animals of Galapagos islands

1)Lava lizard

Microlophus is a genus of tropidurid lizards native to South America. There are around twenty recognized species and six of these are endemic to the Galápagos Islands where they are popularly known as lava lizards (they are sometimes placed in Tropidurus instead).

The Galapagos lava lizards are able to regenerate their tails, but it very rarely grows back to the original length. This can harm their chances of breeding, as potential mates are attracted to longer tails; however, this is an essential tool to save the lizards and allows them to live up to ten years.

Lava lizards are omnivores and eat moths, flies, beetles, ants, spiders, grasshoppers, and some plants. They are eaten by hawks, snakes, mockingbirds, herons, and centipedes.

2)Darwin's finches

Darwin's finches (also known as the Galápagos finches) are a group of about 15 species of passerine birds. They are well known for their remarkable diversity in beak form and function. ... They were first collected by Charles Darwin on the Galápagos Islands during the second voyage of the Beagle.

3)Galapagos fur seal

Galapagos fur seals are among the smallest of the Otariidae family. Their fur is a light tan on the stomach and around the mouth and ears, with the rest of the fur being a gray-brown. They have longer guard hairs and male fur seals have a mane of slightly longer hairs from the top of the head to their shoulders.

4)Marine iquana

Marine iguanas are most noted for their ability to feed in shallow, marine waters. They are herbivores and eat marine algae growing along rocky shores and underwater. In the water, they swim with a snake-like motion and hold themselves against the bottom with their long claws in order to graze.

Content created and supplied by: Update380 (via Opera News )

Galapagos Galápagos Islands Microlophus South America


Load app to read more comments