Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

State Congress: Akwa Ibom APC Announce Authentic List of New State Executives

AmanamHillary Umo-Udofia | Uyo, 17 October 2021.

The Akwa Ibom State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has announced the winners of the State Congress conducted yesterday with Austin Ekanem as its new chairman.

In a release signed by the State Caretaker Committee Chairman, Dr. Ita Udosen stated that "In line with the Constitution of All Progressives Congress, I wish to bring to the notice of all APC members and the general public the official results of state congress Elections conducted through open secret balloting on Saturday, October 16, 2021, at Sheergrace Arena, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State as announced by the 7-man State Congress Committee from Abuja who conducted the exercise".

Dr. Udosen added that "the attendance cuts across all the major shades of opinion in our party and there was no one left in doubt as regard the authenticity of the congress which was very peaceful".

He further expressed gratitude and commended the conduct of party members during the exercise, urging contestants with complaints to approach the appeal panel that will be delegated by the national secretariat. "The party is deeply grateful to the 7-man State Congress Committee led by Yusuf Sheriff Banki, the INEC, the Security Agencies, Media, APC stakeholders and the delegates for such huge successes. The party implores any member who has anything against the conduct of the Party Congresse to get ready to present it before the 5-man State Congress Appeal Committee that will be set up very soon". 

Dr. Udosen dismissed parallel congresses held by some elements as “mere naming ceremonies”, warning that any member who attempts to circulate fake names will be dealt with by security agencies. "The party therefore warns, that members who attempt to circulate forged list of party organs and those found impersonating to confuse the public will find it hot in the hands of security agents this time. The party directs all members to accord the newly elected State officers the due respect."

Notable APC stalwarts at the congress included Atuekong Don Etiebet, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, HE Godswill Akpabio, HE Group Captain Sam Ewang, Mr. Umana Okon Umana, Senator Ita Enang, Sir Bassey Dan-Abia, Archbishop Samuel Akpan, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ekon, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Akpan, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ukoette and Otuekong Sunny Jackson Udoh.

Others include DIG Udom Ekpoudom, Chief Godwin Afangide, Chief Engr. Benedict Ukpong, Dr. Bassey Antai, Dr. Edet Atti, Rt. Hon Nse Ntuen, Barr. Ibanga Akpabio, Hon. Engr. Akanimo Edet, Dr. Amadu Attai, Hon. Loveday Ekuyok, Rt. Hon. Bassey Etim, Prof. Etok Ekanem, Prince Mandu Ekpo, Engr Mfon Akpan Eyen, Dr. Ndem Andem, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ekpenyong, Barr. Edet Eyo Bassey, Hon Inibehe Otoho, Prof Ibia Ibia, Justice Andrew Okon, Justice Ekerette Ebieye among other important party dignitaries that graced the occasion and cast their votes.

Content created and supplied by: AmanamHillary (via Opera News )

APC Akwa Ibom State All Progressives Ita Udosen State Congress


Load app to read more comments