Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Middle East politics

Check out the countries that do not recognize Israel

The map above shows who does and does not have diplomatic relations with the State of Israel. Currently 36 countries do not recognize and/or have foreign relations with Israel. This includes 15 states that did at one point in the past but now, for variety of reasons, do not. Interestingly, this includes several Latin American countries.

The following states have never recognized and/or had foreign relations with Israel:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Comoros, Djibouti, Indonesia, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, North Korea, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, United Arab Emirates and Yemen

The following countries did have relations with Israel at one point in the past. (Time period of relations and reason for breaking them off are in parenthesis):

Bahrain (1996–2000; Second Intifada), Bolivia (1950–2009; Gaza War), Chad (1960–1972; solidarity with the Palestinians), Cuba (1950–1973; Yom Kippur War), Guinea (1959–1967; unknown but presumable related to 1967 Arab-Israeli war), Iran (1948–1951, 1953–1979; Islamic revolution in Iran), Mali (1960–1973; pressure from neighboring countries), Morocco (1994–2000; Second Intifada), Mauritania (2000–2009; Gaza War), Nicaragua (1948–1982, 1992–2010; Gaza flotilla raid), Niger (1960–1973, 1996–2002; Second Intifada), Oman (1996–2000; Second Intifada), Qatar (1996–2009; Gaza War), Tunisia (1996–2000; Second Intifada) and Venezuela (1950–2009; Gaza War)

Content created and supplied by: fiveGee (via Opera News )

Afghanistan Algeria Indonesia Israel Latin American


Load app to read more comments