Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

APC National Convention: List of Top 4 Contenders That May Become The Next APC National Chairman

At the moment, there are Nine Prominent Politicians jostling for the National Chairman Seat. They include Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), George Akume (Benue), Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa), Salihu Mustapha (Kwara), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Mallam Isa Yuguda (Bauchi) and Senator Tanko Al-makura (Nasarawa). However, only Four among these Aspirants could be regarded as Top Contenders due to their Political Experience and Popularity. They include 

1. Senator Ali Modu Sheriff

His foray into politics can be traced back to 1992 when he was into the National Assembly. The Former Governor of Borno State Governor has a better chance of becoming the Next APC Chairman due to his political experience as a Three-time Senator, Two-Governor and a Former Acting National Chairman of the opposition People's Democratic Party (PDP) is a boost to his ambition.

2. Senator Tanko Al-makura 

Of all the Aspirants jostling to succeed the incumbent APC National Chairman, Mai Mala Buni, the 68years-old Al-makura is the oldest Politician. The immediate past Governor of Nasarawa State is one of the Few Nigerian Politicians who have been in active politics since the early 80's. He belongs the CPC bloc of the ruling party, If political experience is anything to go by, Senator Al-makura is qualified to emerge as the Next APC National Chairman. 

3. Hon. Abdulaziz Yari 

Yari, a Former of Zamfara State has been a Progressive since he joined politics in 1999. He held Top Position in the defunct All Nigeria People's Party (ANPP), He was the First Politicians who declared his intention to succeed Mai Mala Buni. The 53years-old APC Topshot who is the immediate past Chairman of the Nigerian Governors Forum (NGF) might be supported by the majority of APC Governors to emerge as the next National Chairman of the party.

4. Senator George Akume 

Akume is currently the Minister of Special Duties in the Federal Executive Council. The Ex-Benue State Governor who belongs to the ANPP bloc of the ruling APC is a close ally of President Muhammadu Buhari and Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu. His cordial relationship with these Two Political Heavyweight may pave way for his emerge as the APC National Chairman in the forthcoming Convention of the party. 

Who among these Top 4 Contenders do you think is best qualified to emerge as the next APC National Chairman?

Kindly Like, Share and Comment your Opinion.

Content created and supplied by: Larrykay20 (via Opera News )

Abdulaziz Yari Abdullahi Adamu Ali Modu Bauchi Kashim Shettima


Load app to read more comments