Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Governor Seyi Makinde And Ayo Fayose Should Work Together For A United PDP In Southwest

The much awaited Southwest PDP congress has come and gone. People have been elected into different offices. These people would be in charge of the affairs of the party in the Southwest for the period they have been elected for. The main focus of the congress was the election of the Southwest PDP chairmanship position.

The election came and the result was announced and the former Oyo Deputy Governor Taofeek Arapaja won the southwest chairmanship seat of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He was announced as the winner of the hotly contested poll by chairman of the congress and Benue Deputy Governor, Benson Abounu. Arapaja, polled 343 votes to defeat Dr Eddy Olafeso, who scored 330 votes.

However, before the congress their has been notion that former Governor of ekiti state, Ayodele Fayose was backing the candidacy of Dr Eddy Olafeso while the incumbent governor of Oyo state, Engineer Seyi makinde supported the former Oyo state deputy governor, Mr Taofeek Arapaja.

The different interest of these two power brokers in the southwest PDP made the party to shift the venue of the congress from Ibadan to Osogbo where the congress finally took place. The battle of words continues between former Governor of ekiti state, Mr Ayodele fayose and the incumbent governor of Oyo State, Engineer Seyi makinde, even after the congress.

Irrespective of whatever has pan out before and after the congress, there is need for both camp to come together in unity for the betterment of PDP in the southwest. Both the former Governor of ekiti state and the governor of Oyo state should rally round the elected chairman of the party in the southwest, Taofeek Arapaja.

If they both come together and unite, they will be able to form a formidable front in the southwest and there will be opportunity for them to take other southwestern states that are currently governed by the opposition party.

Content created and supplied by: Samaktad (via Opera News )

Ayo Fayose Oyo PDP Southwest PDP Taofeek Arapaja


Load app to read more comments