Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

List of Two Longest Serving Senators in Nigeria Who Have Been Winning Elections Since 2003 (PHOTOS)

There is no limit to the number of terms lawmakers can serve in either state or National Assembly as long as they continue to win elections. The president of the Nigerian Senate in the presiding officer of the Senate of Nigeria, elected by its membership. The duo of Senator James Manager and the immediate past Deputy Senate President, Senator Ike Ekweremadu holds the longest serving Senators at the National Assembly.

Ekweremadu (Left) and Manager (Right).

Photo Credit: Goggle

Interestingly, the Two Lawmakers are Lawyers by training and they are both Chieftains of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) While Senator James Manager is a fifth-term Lawmaker representing Delta South Senatorial District, Ekweremadu is a fifth-term Lawmaker representing Enugu West Senatorial District.

Both Politicians have been in Active Politics for more than Two Decades. While Manager joined politics in 1991, Ekweremadu on the other hand came into politcal limelight in 1997. They both began their Political Career as Local Government Chairmen of their respective Local Governments. 

Prior to their Election into the National Assembly in 2003, Manager served in different capacities as Commissioner in Delta State, while Ekweremadu was the Secretary to the Enugu State Government (SSG). Both James Manager and Ike Ekweremadu are 2023 PDP Governorship Aspirants in Delta and Enugu States respectively.

Kindly Like, Share and Comment your Opinion.

Content created and supplied by: Politics_Guru (via Opera News )

Ekweremadu Ike Ekweremadu James Manager Nigeria Senate


Load app to read more comments