Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Apart From Pres Buhari, Meet 4 Fulani Men Who Wanted To Become The President Of Nigeria.

The Fula people, often described as the Fulani, are regarded as the world's largest nomadic group. In Nigeria, Fulani is known to be nomadic herders and traders. However, they are also involved in politics as we have seen many of them who became governors and presidents in the country.

In this article, I will be sharing with you 4 prominent Fulani men who wanted to become President of Nigeria.

Image credit :

Nuhu Ribadu

He obtained a degree in Law at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria in 1983. He graduated from the Nigerian Law School and was called to the bar in 1984. He joined the Police immediately after his national service.

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo, appointed him to the chairmanship of the EFCC in 2003 and reappointed him in 2007 after he was promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG), in March 2007.

As head of EFCC, he charged prominent bankers, former State governors, ministers, Senators, high-ranking political party members, commissioners of Police for corruption.

In 2011, Nuhu Ribadu was chosen as the Action Congress candidate for April's presidential polls. He lost the election to Goodluck Jonathan who was the candidate of PDP.

Image credit :

Saraki Bukola

He is a Fulani/Yoruba man, he was appointed as Special Assistant to the President on Budget by Olusegun Obasanjo in 2000.

In 2003, he became the Governor of Kwara State on the platform of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) and was re-elected in 2007.

In 2011, Saraki ran successfully for Senator representing the Kwara Central Senatorial District. After his re-election in 2015 general elections, he became President of the Senate.

He declared his presidential campaign for the PDP presidential ticket in the 2019 election but lost the primaries to Atiku Abubakar.

Image credit :

Atiku Abubakar

He served as the Vice President of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007 during the presidency of Olusegun Obasanjo.

On 20 December 2006, he was chosen as the presidential candidate of the Action Congress (AC). In 2011, he returned to PDP to contest for the Presidential ticket of his party alongside Goodluck Jonathan and Sarah Jubril, and lost the primary.

In 2014, he became a founding member All Progressives Congress (APC) but lost the presidential primary election to Muhammadu Buhari.

In 2019, Atiku under the platform of PDP lost the presidential election to Muhammadu Buhari.

Image credit :

Rabiu Kwankwanso

He was the Governor of Kano State from 1999 to 2003 and 2011 to 2015.

He was later elected to the Senate in 2015 under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) representing Kano Central Senatorial District.

In October 2018, Kwankwaso contested the PDP presidential primaries but lost it to Atiku Abubakar .

Content created and supplied by: Elijah361 (via Opera News )

Ahmadu Bello University Fulani Nigeria Nuhu Ribadu Pres Buhari


Load app to read more comments