Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Check Out The Only State In Nigeria That Has Produced 2 Nigerian Presidents Since 1999

Since the beginning of this present democratic dispensation in 1999, few states in the country have produced the number one citizen of the country. 

President Olusegun Obasanjo, a two-term President hails from Ogun State in the South West region of Nigeria, while President Muhammadu Buhari's predecessor, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan hails from the Otuoke community in Bayelsa State. Bayelsa State is located in the South-South region of Nigeria. 

(Photo Credit - ChannelsTv)

But there is a state in the North-Western region of Nigeria that has produced two Nigerian Presidents and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces. That state is Katsina State

(Photo Credit - ChannelsTv)

Katsina State which shares borders with Kaduna, Zamfara, Kano, and Jigawa States is nicknamed the "Home of Hospitality" because the people of the people are quite hospitable. 

The two Presidents the State has produced since the beginning of this present democratic dispensation are :

1. Late Umaru Musa Yar'adua :

Umaru Musa Yar'adua who died in 2010 was the Governor of Katsina between 1999 and 2007. He succeeded former President Olusegun Obasanjo as Nigeria President in 2007 but died in office before the expiration of his tenure. 

(Photo Credit - Plus TV Africa)

He was succeeded by his vice, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan. 

(Photo Credit - Premium Times Newspaper)

2. Muhammadu Buhari :

The incumbent President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari is also from Katsina State. The soft-spoken politician hails from Daura village.

(Photo Credit - Vanguard Newspaper)

Muhammadu Buhari, who is a former Military Head of State defeated Goodluck Ebele Jonathan of the People's Democratic Party in 2015 to emerge as the President of Nigeria. He re-contested in 2019 under the All Progressive Congress and won again.

President Muhammadu Buhari contested for the post of the Presidency thrice before he eventually won in 2015.

(Photo Credit - Britannica)

Content created and supplied by: OgbeniPOG (via Opera News )

Bayelsa State Katsina State Nigeria Ogun State Olusegun Obasanjo


Load app to read more comments