Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

See the result of June 12 1993 election that was nullified by Ibrahim Babangida.

June 12, 2020, makes it exactly 27 years ago that Nigeria conducted what many adjourned to be the most free and fair election in the history of Nigeria.

Although the election that seemed to be the most credible in history ended in a sardonic manner in the country history when the whole election was nullified by the then Military President, General Ibrahim Babangida, even thou, the claimed winner of the election, Moshood Kashimawo Olawale popularly known as MKO Abiola was not officially declared, but the result available shows that he won the election with an extensive margin from the document made available by the election umpire headed by Humprey Nwosu after the nullification of the election. 

MKO Abiola and his political party Social Democratic Party was declared to have won 20 out of 31 states in Nigeria while the second-place National Republican Convention won 11 states in the election.

MKO Abiola won in the following states: Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Kwara, Lagos, Oyo, Ondo, Ogun, Osun, Plateau, Yobe, Taraba, Abuja while the opponent Bashir Tafa of NRC won in the remaining 11 states.

Here is the result of the election as published by Tell Newspaper on July 5 1995.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Anambra Edo Ibrahim Babangida MKO Abiola Moshood Kashimawo Olawale


Load app to read more comments