Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Meet The Top 5 APC National Chairman Seat Contenders

Ahead of July 10 APC National Convention, the race for National Chairmanship Seat of the ruling party is already gathering momentum, some political gladiators has set to slug it out at the forth coming National Convention. Notable among them are:

1. Abdul'Aziz Yari

Abdul-Aziz Abubakar Yari 53, is a former Governor of Zamfara State, Nigeria in the 26 April 2011 National elections, running on the All Nigeria People's Party (ANPP) platform. Yari began his political career as secretary of the then All Nigeria People's Party (ANPP) between 1999 and 2003. He was elected chairman of ANPP Zamfara State in 2003 and later rose to the position of ANPP National Financial Secretary, the position he held till 2007 when he was elected as member representing Anka/Talafa Mafara Federal Constituency from 2007 to 2011. Similarly, yari is the son-in-law of incumbent Governor Mahmud Aliyu Shinkafi of the PDP, whom he defeated in the election by 514,962 votes. Governor Yari was re-elected as Governor under the platform of the APC during the 2015 gubernatorial election. On may 18, 2018, Hon. Yari's Colleagues in the Nigerian Governor's forum unanimously elected him as their chairman, succeeding Rt.Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi.

2. Isa Yuguda

Mallam Isa Yuguda ( born 15 June 1956) is a former Governor of Bauchi State, Nigeria. He was first elected in April 2007 on the platform of ANPP. In April 2009, he changed Allegiance from the ANPP to the PDP. Yuguda has served at different capacities in the political affairs in Nigeria. In June 2000, Yuguda was appointed Minister of State for Transport in the government of President Olusegun Obasanjo. He was moved to the Ministry of Aviation(may 2003 to June 2005). In 2016, Yuguda announced his decision to leave the People's Democratic Party(PDP). He switched to the APC in December 2018, after he announced his decision to join the APC at a press conference at NUJ Secretariat through his former Commissioner for Religious Affairs and Community Relations, Salisu Ahmed Barau.

3. Murtala Nyako

Vice Admiral Murtala Nyako 78, (rtd), GCON, CFR: RCDs, D.Agric,(H.C) was elected executive Governor of Adamawa State, Nigeria, taking office in may 2007. Prior to then, he served in the Nigerian Navy , at one time being military Governor of Niger State, and being appointed Chief of Navy Staff in December 1989. Nyako is the President of the Horticultural Crops Growers Association of Nigeria, the practicing Farmer's Association of Nigeria and the Apex Farmer's Association of Nigeria. Nyako entered politics in 2006, he was elected Governor of Adamawa State in April 2007. In February 2008 the election petition Appeal Tribunal annulled his election, alleging electoral malpractice. A fresh election was conducted and Nyako was re-elected with a landslide victory taking all 21 local government area, resuming office on 29 April 2008. In 2012 after his first tenure, he ran for a second term in the 2012 Adamawa State gubernatorial election and was re-elected.

4. Tanko Almakura

Umaru Tanko Almakura (born august 1952) is a former Governor of Nasarawa State. Almakura began his political career in 1980 as Youth Leader of the National Party of Nigeria(NPN) in the old Plateau State. He was elected to the Constitution Assembly of 1988 - 1989, representing the Lafia- Obi Federal Constituency of what is now Nasarawa State. He was state secretary of the National Republican Convention ( NPC) party in Plateau State from 1990 to 1992. Almakura was elected Governor of Nasarawa State, Nigeria on 26 April 2011, running on the Congress for Progressive Change ( CPC) ticket. He defeated the incumbent Governor Aliyu Akwe - Doma of the PDP. In 2019, he was elected as senator representing Nasarawa South Senatorial District.

5. Ali Modu Sheriff

Alli Modu Sheriff is former Governor of Borno State. He is the first Borno State governor to served two consecutive terms(2003-2011). Alli Modu Sheriff has served as Senator representing Borno Central on the platform of the United Nigeria Congress Party(UNCP) during General Sani Abacha's Military regime. After Democracy was restored, in April 1999, he was re-elected Senator representing Borno Central on the platform of the All Nigeria People's Party (ANPP). In 2003, he ran for Governor of Borno State on the ANPP platform and won. He was re-elected in 2007 and sworn in on 29 may 2007. In both cases, he defeated the PDP candidate Kashim Ibrahim - Imam. In 2014, Sheriff switched Affiliation to the People's Democratic Party (PDP). He acted as the National Working Committee Chairman from 16 February 2016 until the National Convention, when he was removed and replaced by Ahmed Makarfi. On the 26th April 2018, he defected back to All Progressive Congress.

Who did you think will emerge as next National Chairman of the APC in the forth coming National Convention that will be holding on July 10th? kindly like, share and comments your points.

Content created and supplied by: Osekita (via Opera News )

ANPP APC National Abdul-Aziz Abubakar Yari Nigeria Yari


Load app to read more comments