Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

20 Prominent Nigerians Who Are Alumni of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) is a federal government research university located in Zaria, Kaduna State. ABU was founded on October 4, 1962, as the University of Northern Nigeria.

The university operates three main campuses: Samaru and Kongo in Zaria, and School of Basic Studies in Funtua.

Today, we have a list of influential Nigerians who are alumni of the school.

1.      Prof. Attahiru Jega

Attahiru Muhammadu Jega is the former Vice-Chancellor of Bayero University, Kano and former chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission. Jega is the only INEC chairman to oversee two Nigerian General Elections (2011 and 2015).

2.      Atiku Abubakar, GCON

Atiku Abubakar (born 25 November 1946) is a Nigerian politician, businessman, philanthropist and presidential candidate of the People's Democratic Party at the 2019 Nigerian general election.

While still Governor-Elect, he was selected by then-presidential candidate Olusegun Obasanjo as his running mate.

3.      Donald Duke

Donald Duke (born 30 September 1961 in Calabar) was the Governor of Cross River State from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007 and the 2019 Nigeria Presidential candidate for Social Democratic Party, SDP.

4.      Nenadi Esther Usman

Nenadi Esther Usman was appointed as Minister of Finance by the Obasanjo administration. She was also elected Senator for Kaduna South in the April 2011 elections, running on the People's Democratic Party (PDP) platform.

5.      Sanusi Lamido Sanusi

Muhammadu Sanusi II (Sanusi Lamido Sanusi; born 31st July, 1961) is the 14th Emir of Kano. He ascended the throne in 2014, following the death of his grand uncle Ado Bayero.

His father Aminu Sanusi was Ciroma of Kano. Prior to his ascension, Sanusi was a successful career banker and one time, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

6.      Umaru Tanko Al-Makura

Umaru Tanko Al-Makura is a Nigerian businessman and politician and also a former governor who is a senator in Nasarawa State running in the (All Progressive Congress) ticket. He was elected as a senator in 2019.

7.      Ibrahim Zakzaky

Ibrahim Yaqoub El Zakzaky (born May 5, 1953) is an imprisoned, outspoken and prominent Shi'a Muslim leader in Nigeria.

Zakzaky believes that the establishment of a republic along similar religious lines in Nigeria would be feasible.

8.      Ibrahim Shekarau

Ibrahim Shekarau was a former Nigeria's minister of education and two term Governor of Kano State in Nigeria. He was elected in April 2003 and reelected in April 2007.

He was one of the candidates aspiring to become president in the Nigerian general elections of 2011.

9.      Abdullahi Ganduje, OFR

Abdullahi Umar Ganduje (born 25 December 1945) is the current Governor of Kano State since 2015. He previously served as deputy governor twice between 1999 and 2003 and 2011 to 2015.

10.  Prof. Jerry Gana

Jerry Gana, A Nigerian scholar, politician and one time Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in 1983. He served in different capacities during the military regime. Also, he served as Political Adviser to Olusegun Obasanjo, before announcing plans to run for president in June 2006.

11.  Bola Shagaya

Hajia Bola Shagaya, MON (born October 10, 1959) is a successful Nigerian businesswoman and fashion enthusiast.

She is one of the richest women in Africa. Bola Shagaya is the founder and CEO of Bolmus Group International, a conglomerate with holdings in real estate, oil and gas, banking and photography.

12.  Azubuike Ihejirika, CFR

Azubuike Ihejirika (born February 13, 1956) is a retired Nigerian Army lieutenant general and former Chief of Army Staff.

13.  John Obaro

John Tanimola Obaro is a Nigerian, technology entrepreneur, public speaker and founder of SystemSpecs Nigeria Limited. John Obaro is of Okun tribe from Kogi State.

14.  Mohammed Bello Adoke, SAN

Mohammed Bello Adoke (born 1 September 1963) is a Nigerian lawyer. He is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria and was appointed Attorney General of Nigeria and Minister of Justice on 6 April 2010, when Acting President Goodluck Jonathan announced his new cabinet.

15.  Arc. Namadi Sambo

Mohammed Namadi Sambo was former Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria from 19 May 2010 to 29 May 2015.

16.  Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai

Malam Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai is the current Governor of Kaduna State. He was the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja from 16 July 2003 to 29 May 2007.

17.  Solomon Arase

Solomon Ehigiator Arase (born June 21, 1956) is a retired Nigerian police officer who served as the 18th Inspector-General of Nigerian Police (IGP).

18.  Nuhu Ribadu

Mallam Nuhu Ribadu(born 21 November 1960) is a Nigerian police officer and politician who was the Chairman of the Petroleum Revenue Task Force and the former boss of Nigeria's anti-corruption agency.

He was known for his ruthless pursuit of corrupt individuals, winning him respect within his country and abroad.

19.  Turai Yar'Adua

Hajiya Turai Umar Musa Yar'Adua (born 26 July 1957) is the widow of former Nigerian President and former Katsina State Governor Umaru Musa Yar'Adua.

She was the First Lady of Nigeria from 2007 until the death of her husband on May 5, 2010.

20.  Ahmed Makarfi

Ahmed Mohammed Makarfi (born 8 August 1956) was one time former Chairman of the People's Democratic Party. He was governor of Kaduna State from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2007, and was elected Senator for Kaduna North in April 2007.



For more insightful and amazing contents, FOLLOW my page here, LIKE, COMMENT and don't forget to SHARE this link to friends and family. You can also follow me on Twitter @prodigy_eben.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Ahmadu Bello University Attahiru Muhammadu Jega INEC Kaduna State Nigerians


Load app to read more comments