Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

5 Prominent Politicians That Defected To APC In 2021

Here is a list of five Nigerian and prominent politicians that joined APC in 2021.

1. Former Ogun state governor Otunba Gbenga Daniel

Photo Credit: Vanguard Newspaper

Former Ogun state governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel dumped the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and officially joined the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). He was welcomed by five governors elected on the platform of the party, including the president.

The governor said the move was in the best interest of his people.

Gbenga Daniel was the chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party's presidential campaign council for the 2019 elections, in which former vice president Atiku Abubakar was the party's ticket holder.

2. Azubuike Ihejirika

Photo Credit: ThisDay Live

Former chief of army staff, lieutenant general Azubuike Ihejirika officially defected to the ruling party on February 16 this year.

Ihejirika was COAS from 2010 to 2014 under former President Goodluck Jonathan. He announced his decision to join the APC at his hometown in Abia north senatorial district.

The former COAS stated that the motivation in joining the APC was to help the party advance at the state and national levels.

3. Cross River state governor Ben Ayade

Photo Credit: Leadership Newspaper

Cross River state governor, Ben Ayade officially dumped the opposition party and was welcomed by president Muhammadu Buhari at the state house in Abuja.

The governor also cite his reasons to work with the president in order to promote unity among his people in the state.

4. Zamfara state Governor Bello Matawalle

Bello Matawalle formally made his decision known to the public when he decamped to the APC after a long deliberation about whether he would continue with the opposition party due to the rising insecurity in the state. He decamped this year and met with president Muhammadu Buhari.

Matawalle was elected governor of Zamfara state as a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state's most recent gubernatorial election.

5. Chief Femi Fani-Kayode

Photo Credit: Vanguard Newspaper

Fani-Kayode is the most recent politician from the opposition party that has defected to the ruling party. He joined the APC and was welcomed at the state house in Abuja by President Muhammadu Buhari.

After a barrage of criticisms, Fani-Kayode disclosed that he joined the ruling party out of God's will, rather than for political reasons.

These are the five prominent politicians that defected to the ruling party this year.

Content created and supplied by: TariqOboh (via Opera News )

APC Atiku Abubakar Azubuike Ihejirika Otunba Gbenga Otunba Gbenga Daniel


Load app to read more comments