Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

Who Has Most Powers Among These 6 Traditional Rulers

Nigerian traditional rulers often derive their titles from the rulers of independent states or communities that existed before the formation of modern Nigeria. Although they do not have formal political power, in many cases they continue to command respect from their people and have considerable influence.

Below are a list of six traditional rulers in Nigeria.

1. Sultan of sokoto

Sa'adu Abubakar. Muhammadu Sa'ad Abubakar IV (born August 24 1956) is the 20th Sultan of Sokoto. As Sultan of Sokoto, he is considered the spiritual leader of Nigeria's one hundred million Muslims, roughly fifty percent of the nation's population.

Abubakar is the fifth heir to the two century-old throne founded by his ancestor, Sheikh Usman Dan Fodio (1754–1817) leader of the Maliki school of Islam and the Qadiri branch of Sufism.

2. Ooni of Ife

Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, Ojaja II, is a Nigerian monarch. He is the traditional ruler, or Ooni, of the Yoruba kingdom of Ile-Ife. He has held his title since 2015.

He started his elementary education at Subuola Memorial Nursery and Primary School, Ibadan and Ibadan District Council, Akobo, Ibadan. He then proceeded to the prestigious Loyola College, Ibadan and later to St. Peters Secondary School, Ile-Ife, where he received his secondary school certificate (SSCE). He graduated as an accountant from The Polytechnic, Ibadan.

3. Oba of Benin:

The Oba of Benin is the traditional ruler and the custodian of the culture of the Edo people and all Edoid people and head of the historic Eweka dynasty of the Benin kingdom. The ancient Benin homeland has been and continues to be mostly populated by the Edo.

4. Emir of Kano

Aminu Ado Bayero. Aminu Ado Bayero (born 1961) is the 15th Emir of Kano from the Fulani Sullubawa clan. He ascended the throne on 9 March 2020, following the deposition of his nephew Muhammad Sanusi II by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje.

5. Alaafin of Oyo

Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III; Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III (born 15 October 1938) is the Alaafin, or traditional ruler, of the Yoruba town of Oyo and rightful heir to the throne of its historic empire.

6. Oba of Lagos

Oba Rilwan Akiolu; The current Oba of Lagos, His Highness Oba Rilwan Akiolu, has served in the position since May 2003.

Now among these six powerful traditional rulers, who do you think is more powerful and why?

Share your opinion in the comments section below.

Content created and supplied by: Travis02 (via Opera News )

Muhammadu Sa'ad Abubakar IV Nigeria Ojaja II Usman Dan Fodio Yoruba


Load app to read more comments