Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Lagos 2023: Three Politicians Who Might Get The PDP Governorship Ticket

The 2023 general election is fast approaching and many politicians have started revealing their ambitions.

Lagos is unarguably the most popular state in Nigeria. It is also the economic city of the country.

Since the return of democracy in 1999, Lagos State is the only state in the southern region that hasn't been ruled by the Peoples Democratic Party.

Lagos State is currently under the control of the All Progressives Congress with Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu as governor.

The PDP is determined to take over the leadership of Lagos State from the APC in 2023. However, one of these three politicians might emerge as the PDP candidate in 2023. 

1. Jimi Agbaje: Agbaje is a prominent member of the opposition party and he has run for the governorship position twice under the party, but he lost.

Agbaje is a known figure in Lagos State. The politician hasn't declared his ambition for 2023, but he might also re-run for the post.

2. Babatunde Olalere Gbadamosi: BOG is the former governorship candidate for the Action Democratic Party in 2019. He joined the PDP shortly after the election. 

In 2020, Gbadamosi ran for the Lagos East Senatorial District seat and lost to the APC candidate.

It has been speculated that the politician has an interest in the governorship seat in 2023.

3. Adedeji Doherty: Doherty is the chairman of the PDP in Lagos State. He contested for the governorship position in 2019 but was defeated by Jimi Agbaje in the primary election.

Adedeji recently said he is still interested in the governorship race.



Content created and supplied by: OfficialReporter (via Opera News )

Jimi Agbaje Lagos Lagos State Nigeria PDP


Load app to read more comments