Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

11 Southern States Where Anti-Open Grazing Laws Have Been Enacted

The Southern Governors Forum has agreed to enact an anti-open grazing law to end farmers' and herders' clashes in the southern part of the country.

The decision of the governors has generated different reactions among Nigerians. The presidency and some prominent politicians from the North are also against the decision of the governors.

At the meeting held in Lagos in July, the governors set September 1, 2021, as the deadline for the 17 states in the southern region to enact the law.

However, eleven out of the 17 southern states have enacted the law. While six are yet to pass the law.

Before the resolution of the governors, the anti-open grazing law was already operational in some states. The states are:

1. Ekiti State

2. Abia State

3. Oyo State 

4. Bayelsa State 

5. Ebonyi 

States that passed the law after the resolution was made include: 

6. Rivers State enacted the law on August 19, 2021. 

7. Ondo State passed the law on August 31, 2021. 

States that passed the law after the September 1 deadline include: 

8. Enugu State

9. Osun State

10. Akwa-Ibom State 

11. Lagos State

The bill has been passed by the Ogun, Delta, and Anambra States Houses of Assemblies, but the governors are yet to accent the law. 

Despite the resolution, Edo, Cross River and Imo states are somewhat reluctant about enacting the law. 

 Source: The Cable


Content created and supplied by: Worldfashion (via Opera News )

Ekiti State Lagos Nigerians Southern Governors Forum Southern States


Load app to read more comments