Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Tinubu: Three Supreme Court Justices Ruled Against Yar'Adua Victory In Presidential Election: Umar

During the legal challenges against Bola Tinubu's election as president of the APC, a prominent PDP member, Umar Sani, asserted that no presidential election in Nigeria had ever been declared invalid since 1979.

He did, however, point out that the 2007 presidential election, in which the late President Musa Yar'Adua won, was narrowly overturned by the Supreme Court. Sani claimed that three out of the seven Supreme Court justices dissented and demanded the annulment of the 2007 presidential election in the Muhamadu Buhari against Musa Yar'Adua case. The majority of the Supreme Court justices, however, backed Yar'Adua's triumph and ruled in his favour.

Sani said in a video interview posted to AIT News' YouTube channel, "For instance, no Nigerian court, whether the Court of Appeal or the Supreme Court, has declared a presidential election invalid since 1979. The closest incident occurred when three to four judges disagreed in the Buhari v. Yar'Adua case. The nearest was that.

Content created and supplied by: Me1234? (via Opera News )

AIT News' Nigeria Sani Supreme Court Yar'Adua


Load app to read more comments