Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

PDP zoning Committee gives reasons for Zoning National Chairmanship to South-West

The Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) National convention zoning Committee saddled with the responsibility of zoning positions for the party's National Executive Council in its upcoming National convention has submitted its report and zoned the Chairmanship of the party to the South-East zone.

The Committee's report according to a source that pleaded anonymity, also stated that the National secretary position was zoned to the North.

The report by the 44-Member National Convention zoning Committee stated that its recommendation for South-West to produce the National chairman of the party was based on the fact that the zone has never enjoyed the position. The Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi led committee further stated that, members of the Committee considered past distribution pattern of the geopolitical zones that produced Chairmen and came to the conclusion to micro zone the chairmanship position while leaving the Secretary position open to the North.

The previous pattern as considered by the party is listed below; North-Central has produced five past chairmen in persons of Chief Solomon Lar, Barnabas Gemade, Audu Ogbeh, Ahmadu Ali and Kawu Baraje; while the North-East has produced three chairmen in persons of Dr Bamanga Tukur, Dr Adamu Muazu and Senator Ali Modu Sheriff.

The North-West produced two – Dr Haliru Bello and Senator Ahmed Makarfi; the South East produced two – Vincent Ogbulafor and Okwesilieze Nwodo; while the South South produced Secondus both as acting and as substantive chairman.

The PDP had earlier announced October 30, 2021 for its National convention to elect new officials to lead the party.

Content created and supplied by: Voiceofyala (via Opera News )

Ali Modu Haliru Bello Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi Kawu Baraje PDP


Load app to read more comments