Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

3 Best Civilian Governors of Kogi State

Abubakar Audu

Prince Abubakar Audu (24 October 1947 – 22 November 2015) was a Nigerian career banker and politician who was the first civilian governor of Kogi State. He ruled Kogi State twice (first in the Third Republic and second, in the Fourth Republic). His first tenure was from January 1992 until November 1993 and the second from 29 May 1999 to 29 May 2003. He died due to a bleeding ulcer shortly after the announcement of the election results on 22 November 2015, while seeking to be re-elected as governor on the platform of Nigeria's ruling party, All Progressives Congress (APC).

Ibrahim Idris

Ibrahim Idris (born 1949) is a Nigeria businessman who was elected Governor of Kogi State in Nigeria in April 2003, and reelected in April 2007. He is a member of the ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP). Idris was succeeded by his brother-in-law Captain Idris Wada, who won an election in December 2011 and took office in January 2012.

Idris Wada

Idris Ichala Wada (born August 26, 1950) is a Nigerian retired pilot and politician. On December 9, 2011, he was elected as the 3rd Governor of Kogi State under the platform of People's Democratic Party. Idris was however succeeded by Yahaya Bello on January 27, 2016 after losing his reelection bid in the 2015 Kogi State gubernatorial election.


Content created and supplied by: societyofyoungnigerianwriters (via Opera News )

Abubakar Audu Idris Wada Kogi State Nigeria PDP


Load app to read more comments