Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

3 Politicians Who Moved The Motion For ‘Nigerian Independence’

The battle for Nigerian Independence in the 1950s wasn't an easy task as many view it. It took three prominent Nigerians on different timelines before their wish for self-government was successfully granted. Check them out below:

1. Chief Anthony Enahoro:

Anthony Enahoro is the first Nigerian who moved the motion for self-government for the people of Nigerian in 1953. However, his wish was abolished by the powers of Northern Nigeria who felt they were not ready for Independence from the Colonial masters.

2. SL Akintola:

Akintola represented the Southwest region who made attempts to file the motion for Nigerian Independence in 1957. Although his motion successfully passed the Parliament it was declined by the British colonial authorities and it failed.

3. Remi Fani Kayode:

Lastly, Remi Fani Kayode reattempted Anthony Enahoro’s motion in 1958 and it was successfully passed by the Parliament. Although he wished for the Independence to take place on the 2nd of April, 1960 the date was shifted by the British officials to the 1st of October, 1960 which we all celebrate today.

Content created and supplied by: Power2 (via Opera News )

Akintola Anthony Enahoro Nigerian Independence SL Akintola Southwest


Load app to read more comments