Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

PHOTO: 3 Former PDP Leaders Who Met Buhari When They Joined APC

At least three former leaders of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) were lucky to have a meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari upon their defections to the All Progresives Congress.

It is very rare to immediately meet the president once a politician joins the party of the president. And it should be considered a privilege whenever it happens that the president hosts the politicians.

One of the politicians is a federal lawmaker, Yakubu Dogara, who served as the Speaker of the House of Representatives from 2015 to 2019. He did have some issues with the All Progresives Congress (APC) because the party disprove of the manner he ascended the seat in 2015. He therefore left the APC before the 2019 general elections.

In August, 2020 Mr. Yakubu Dogara declared his intent to return to the APC. At that time, Mr. Mala Buni was available to welcome him to the party.

And after he had done the needful, the caretaker committee chairman, Buni, led Dogara to Aso Rock to have a meeting with the president. The three personalities had some talk which was not disclosed to media and they posed for pictures.

The second politician is Mr. Gbenga Daniel, a former PDP governor in Ogun State. He was one of the main actors in the 2019 presidential election in which Alhaji Atiku Abubakar stood as the PDP candidate for the presidency.

Daniel must have observed the issues on ground at both the national and State level. The All Progresives Congress is in power in Ogun State and he was left with no choice but to find his way to the APC.

Upon his defection, the same Mai Mala Buni led him and Dimeji Bankole to the president. The two politicians (Daniel and Bankole) joined the APC at he same time. And it was a great privilege for the APC.

So, Buni took Gbenga Daniel and Dimeji Bankole to Abuja to show that they had truly become APC members and leaders not only in Ogun State, but also in the country or at the national level.

Content created and supplied by: timfab (via Opera News )

APC Buhari Mala Buni PDP People 's Democratic Party


Load app to read more comments