Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

Meet The Top 5 Serving Senators Who Might Become Governors in 2023

By February 2023, Governorship Elections 'll hold in about 27 States of the Federation. Some Serving Senators have started warming up to contest for the Number One Seat in their respective Home States. Interestingly, Some of these Lawmakers have started their Campaigns in earnest ahead of the Polls. Notable among them are

1. Senator Clifford Elisha Abbo (Adamawa State)

Abbo, 43 currently represents Adamawa North Senatorial District in the Senate, The Enterpreneur turned Politician was previously a Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to Ex-governor of Adamawa State, Murtala Nyako. Senator Abbo who decamped to the All Progressives Congress in November 2020 is one of the Frontline APC Aspirants seeking to unseat the incumbent Governor Ahmadu Fintiri of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) come 2023.

2. Senator Abba Moro (Benue State)

Moro, 64 is the Lawmaker representing Benue South Senatorial District in the National Assembly. He replaced a Former Senate President, Senator David Mark in 2019. Moro, a One-time Minister of Interior is one the People's Democratic Party (PDP) Cheiftain aspiring to replace Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State.

3. Senator Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba State)

Bwacha, 58 is a Third-term Lawmaker Lawmaker representing Taraba South Senatorial District in the Senate. The People's Democratic Party (PDP) Lawmaker was the Taraba State Commissioner for Agriculture between 1999 and 2003, he was also a Two-term House of Representatives Member, Bwacha represented Donga/Ussa/Takum Federal Constituency between 2003 and 2011. He is one of the Top Contenders for the 2023 Taraba State Governorship Election.

4. Senator Ovie Omo-Agege (Delta State)

Omo-Agege, 57 is currently the Deputy Senate President and Lawmaker representing Delta Central Senatorial District. The Second-term Senator is a Chieftain of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). He was a One-time Commissioner and later the Secretary to the Delta State Government (SSG). Omo-Agege is seeking the All Progressives Congress (APC) Governorship Ticket to Succeed the incumbent Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of the PDP in 2023.

5. Senator Ike Ekweremadu (Enugu State)

Ekweremadu, 58 holds the record as the Longest Serving Principal Officer in the National Assembly. The Fifth-term Lawmaker was the Deputy Senate President for Three Legislative terms (2007 - 2019). The PDP Lawmaker represents the good people of Enugu West Senatorial District. Ekweremadu is aspiring to take over the mantle of leadership from Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State by 2023.

Do you think these Ranking Lawmakers 'll emerge victorious come 2023? 

Kindly Like, Share and Comment your Opinion. 

Content created and supplied by: Larrykay20 (via Opera News )

Abba Moro Adamawa State All Progressives Murtala Nyako Senators


Load app to read more comments