Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Northern State That Has Produced Two Nigerian Presidents

Nigeria is the most populous country in Africa and has had several presidents since gaining independence in 1960. However, only one state has produced two presidents in Nigeria's history - the northern state of Katsina.

The first president produced by Katsina state was Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar'Adua. He served as president from 2007 until his untimely death in 2010. Yar'Adua was born on August 16, 1951, in Katsina state. He was a member of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) and was elected as Nigeria's president in 2007. During his tenure, he introduced a seven-point agenda that focused on power, food security, education, infrastructure, wealth creation, transportation, and national security. Yar'Adua's presidency was cut short by his sudden illness and death in 2010.

The second president of Katsina state was Muhammadu Buhari. He was born on December 17, 1942, in Daura, Katsina state. Buhari is a retired Major General of the Nigerian Army and a former military ruler of Nigeria. He first became Nigeria's president in 2015 after winning the presidential election under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Buhari was re-elected in 2019 and is currently serving his second term as Nigeria's president.

In conclusion, Katsina state has produced two presidents in Nigeria's history - Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar'Adua and Muhammadu Buhari. Both men have contributed to Nigeria's development in various ways, and their legacies will continue to be remembered.

Content created and supplied by: TalkSport10 (via Opera News )

Africa Alhaji Katsina People 's Democratic Party Yar'Adua


Load app to read more comments