Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

Meet Two Governors & Four Senators Who Served As James Ibori's Commissioners

While the 2019 general elections brought an end to many political dynasties, there are a few surviving godfathers in the person of Bola Ahmed Tinubu and James Onanefe Ibori.

Ibori is, without a doubt, the godfather of Delta politics, a status he, once again, consolidated on in the last election . Whilst still in prison in the UK, he called the shots in Delta. It was him who ensured that Dr. Okowa was elected governor in 2014.

Whilst as governor, Ibori invested in people. There is hardly anyone who is somebody in Delta political circle who has, not at one point or the other, benefited from him. And while many have grown to be independent and to pursue their own ambitions, he remains quite popular in the grassroots.

The lineup of his cabinet and political family who are the top political leaders in Delta state is intimidating. They include Ovie Omo Agege, Okowa, Uduaghan, James Manager, Nwaboshi, Ewherido, Chief Ighoyota Amori etc

1.Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan

In 1999,Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, was appointed the Commissioner for Health . He was later appointed Secretary to the Delta State Government by his cousin, Ibori during his second tenure as Governor. During the twilight of James Iboris Government, Uduaghan indicated interest to vie for the State number one seat. He contested the PDP Governorship Primary against Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa and several other candidates and was declared their Party's (PDP) flag bearer. He eventually won the election and was sworn into office as governor on May 29, 2007.

2.Dr Ifeanyi Okowa

Dr Ifeanyi Okowa, the present Governor served as commissioner for Agriculture and Natural resources (July 1999-April 2001),Water Resources(April 2001- May 2003)and Health(September 2003-October 2006).Dr Okowa was later appointed the Secretary to the State Government by the Emmanuel Uduaghan government and subsequently got elected the Senator representing Delta North Senatorial district. Today, he is serving his second term as the Executive Governor of Delta State

3.Senator Omo-Agege

Senator Omo-Agege was brought back to Nigeria by Mr. Ibori from California, United States and appointed as an executive assistant, a position he held for two years. He was later appointed as a commissioner for special duties by the governor. Afterwards, he was appointed as the Secretary to State Government (SSG) of Delta State by Governor James Ibori in 2007.Currently, he is the Deputy Senate President of Nigeria.

4.Senator Peter Onyeluka Nwaoboshi

Peter Onyeluka Nwaoboshi,the present senator representing Delta North senatorial district in the Nigerian Senate was first a political adviser to Governor James Ibori before he was appointed the Commissioner for Agriculture and Special Duties in Delta State in 2001. Nwaoboshi served in that position till 2006.

5.Senator James Manager

The five time senator representing Delta South senatorial district was the Commissioner for works and housing in the Ibori administration from1999-2002 . He resigned his appointment to vie for the senatorial district and since then he has been like a recurring decimal in the red chamber.

5. Senator Ighoyota Amori

Amori who served as Commissioner for Education and Water Resources under former Governor James Ibori and as Senior Political Adviser to former Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan was elected as Senator representing Delta Central in 2015.

However, Amori had his dream cut short after being sworn-in, following the litigation victory of incumbent Senator Ovie Omo-Agege over him.

Content created and supplied by: Olufemi211 (via Opera News )

Delta Ibori James Onanefe Okowa UK


Load app to read more comments