Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

EFCC Suspends 12 Officials Indefinitely

12 officials from the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) were suspended indefinitely after being questioned by the President's Commission of Inquiry, headed by Judge Isa Ayo Salami (red).

The new development comes days after the suspension of 12 agency directors by the presidency in connection with the ongoing investigation of the suspended commission's acting chairman, Ibrahim Magu.

Some of the directors affected by the suspension were reportedly part of the team investigating the Attorney General of the Federation Justice Minister Abubakar Malami (SAN).

The Secretary of the agency, Olanipekun Olukoyede was suspended, while others were affected by the suspension, including Kabir Latona, Muhammed Abba, Ibrahim Buhari and Rotimi Oyedepo.

Prior to their suspension, some of the officials engaged in sensitive investigations before receiving letters from the anti-immigration agency on Monday informing them of their suspension.

A source who spoke said: "After being in limbo for a week, we received our suspension letters on Monday.

"We were informed that the suspension was indefinite. We met with her in good faith. But most of us have not received any requests in our careers.

"We have not even appeared before a disciplinary board. We appeal to President Mummadu Buhari to intervene and lift the suspension.

"It was not a friendly meeting, but we were able to make some clarifications on our performance in office.

"One chairperson told the committee that service and loyalty to Nigeria determined his conduct in office, not his feelings.

Content created and supplied by: Quick (via Opera News )

EFCC Ibrahim Magu Isa Ayo Salami Kabir Latona Olanipekun Olukoyede


Load app to read more comments