Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

Ondo 2020:Aketi's Journey To Victory To Pick APC Ticket

After more than 12 hours of voting in the party's indirect primaries, Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) emerged on Tuesday as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress , APC, to contest the October 10 governorship election. He was proclaimed the winner of the primary governorship held at the Dome in Akure, the capital of the State.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Yaya Bello, Akeredolu polled two thousand four hundred and fifty-eight votes to defeat other candidates in the day-long primary election. Chief Olusola Oke, who scored two hundred and sixty-two votes, was followed by Mr Isaacs Kekemeke, who registered nineteen votes.

Ambassador Olusola Iji scored nine, while Nathaniel Adojutelegan, along with Olajide Adelami, registered four votes each, followed by Olajumoke Ajasin-Anifow, who had two votes each. Awodeyi Akinsehinwa and Ife Oyedele came out with one vote each while Bukola Adetula came last with zero votes while thirty-three votes were invalid in the exercise.

It would be remembered that Jimi Odimayo, Segun Abraham and Ifeoluwa Oyedele had stepped down for Akeredolu, while Kekemeke described the process as injustice and treachery. Addressing the meeting, Governor Akeredolu encouraged the co-applicants to work with him and see him as the custodian of their visions for the development of the state.

Here are the local government results;

Akoko NWest

Akeredolu 127


Akoko NEast

Akeredolu 194

Oke 6

Akoko SWest

Akeredolu 216

Oke 17

Akoko SEast

Akeredolu 152

Oke 5

Akure South

Akeredolu 122

Oke 29

Akure North

Akeredolu 172

Oke 5

Ese Odo

Akeredolu 124

Oke 3


Akeredolu 142

Oke 44


Akeredolu 141

Oke 5


Akeredolu 142

Oke 3


Akeredolu 146

Oke 4


Akeredolu 122

Oke 26


Akeredolu 154

Oke 13




Ondo East

Akeredolu 150

Oke 3

Ondo West

Akeredolu 168

Oke 15


Akeredolu 161

Oke 2


Akeredolu 141

Oke 18

Total number of accreditation 3016

Total vote cast 2793.

Valid 2760

Invalid votes 33

Please share

Content created and supplied by: Oluwolemi (via Opera News )

APC Ife Oyedele Olusola Iji Oluwarotimi Akeredolu Segun Abraham


Load app to read more comments