Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

Oyo State Now Looks Very Beautiful, See Photos

Oyo State is a state in South Western part of Nigeria. The state was created in February,1976 together with eight new states from the twelve existing states by General Murtala Mohammed led military regime.

The state was administratively divided into thirty-three local government councils of Ibadan North, Ibadan South-West, Ibadan South-East, Ibadan North-West, Ibadan North-East,Egbeda, Akinyele,Ido,Ibarapa Central,Afijio, Ogbomosho North,Lagelu,Kajola, Irepo,Iseyin, Ogbomosho South,Oyo West,Atiba,Saki East,Saki West,Itesiwaju,Iwajowa, Ibarapa North, Orelope,Ori,Oyo East,Olorunsogo,Ogo,Ona Ara and others.

Oyo state has suffered neglect from successive governments in the past both military and civilian regimes, the present government led by Seyi Makinde is doing everything within his powers to restore the past glory of the state, a lot of construction work, repairs and beautification are ongoing in the state now. The capital city, Ibadan is taking a new shape courtesy of Seyi Makinde's governance.

The state can now boast of well-built dual carriageways with street and traffic lights; overhead bridges both pedestrian and vehicular; institutions of higher learning; shopping malls, relaxation facilities, modern open markets, hotels, hospitals and lots more.

Images of Oyo state

Photos credited to

Share widely and leave a comment

Content created and supplied by: AfricanReporters (via Opera News )

Ibadan Ibadan South-West Ibarapa Central Murtala Mohammed Nigeria


Load app to read more comments