Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Check Out Southern Governors Yet To Sign The Anti-Open Grazing Bill Into Law As Wike And Others Did

Controversy has trailed the passage of anti-open grazing bill and its signing into law by Governors of Southern States in Nigeria as agreed during their last meeting in Lagos State.

Image credit: New Telegraph

So far, only two state Governors have kept to their promise by signing the bill into law in their respective states. They are Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State who was the first to do that after the meeting and Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State who became the second to do that. Many residents of the states in the Southern part of Nigeria are wondering why their state Governors are yet to sign the bill into law as expected even as the deadline is here.

Image credit: TMZ Naija

This article will give list of some Southern States whose Governors are yet to sign the bill into law. Curiously enough, while some states are making or concluding plans to pass the bill, others have not done anything known to the public on the issue. This article will discuss the states based on what they have done so far.

Southern States that are concluding plans to sign the bill into law.

These are made up of states that working towards ensuring that they do the needful. While some people say that the deadline agreed at the meeting in Lagos was September 1, 2021, there is another side of the story that has it that the deadline was the month of September and not just 1st of September a some people are saying. Consequently, these states that are concluding work on the bill and they are very likely to meet the deadline. According to a report by The Guardian, these states include: Lagos State, Enugu State. Other states in this group include Delta State, and Ogun State.

Photo News: Sanwo-Olu, 15 Others At The Southern Nigeria Governor Forum  Meeting In Asaba Today | Rota Media News

Image credit: Rota Media

Southern State that have not done much to enact the law.

This is made up of states that have done anything or made much progress in terms of enacting the anti-open grazing law. Some of these states had their Governors present at the meeting in Lagos where that agreement was reached. Yet, after reviewing another report by Daily Trust, not much has been done by these states even as September deadline is here. The states include: Imo State, Abia State, Ebonyi State, Cross River State, Edo State, Anambra State, Osun State and Akwa Ibom State.

Image credit: The Punch

Meanwhile, Ekiti State already has the law in place as former Governor Ayodele Fayose signed it into law before leaving office. Also, Oyo State has the law in place before Governor Seyi Makinde took over power in 2019. Governor Duoye Diri of Bayelsa State had earlier on in March this year signed the bill into law in his state. That means that Ekiti, Oyo, Bayelsa, Rivers and Ondo are the five states that have the law in place out of the 17 states in the Southern Nigeria.

Image credit: CMA Trends

What could be the reason why other states do not want to enact, pass and sign the bill into law amid concerns that the farmers and herders clashes may cause more harm if preventive measures are not taken? Prevention is better than cure and that is why it is advisable that the remaining Governors should do the needful now.

What are your thoughts on this article? Feel free to drop your comments.

Content created and supplied by: DeLight1 (via Opera News )

Nyesom Wike Rivers State Southern Southern States TMZ Naija


Load app to read more comments