Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Nigeria politics

Niger Deltans, Behold The New Youth Leaders Of Ijawland!

Afterwards three years of infighting that characterized the last administration of the Ijaw Youth Council IYC world-wide, where toe factional leadership emerge from two various Elective Convention, one was held at Okirika, Rivers State under the watchful eye of the host and Paramount ruler of Okochiri, the other was at Burutu, Delta State.

While the Okorichi Elective Convention, produced Barr. Peretubo Oweilaemi led IYC National, Barr. Eric Omare was the product of the Burutu Elective Convention as IYC National President, causing serious altercations across the States of the core Niger Delta (Ondo, Edo, Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross Rivers).

The most revered youth body in the Niger Delta, whose triennial Elective Convention went from bad to worse, owing to the fact that there were two factional leadership that ate good three years of delivering what the IYC stands for, to the youths of the Niger Delta because of power tussle.

It took the intervention of the court for the infighting to be resolved, and that also came one month to the expiration of their tenure as IYC factional Presidents. Thus, it is a thing of joy to witness a smooth transition of power from a barren and fallowed three years of stampede, to a glowing hope of prosperity as the Deacon Peter Timothy Igbifa's led IYC is poised to lead the Ijaw Youth Council IYC, world-wide to a global stage by achieving the demands of the Kaiama Declaration of 1998.

For the record, here are the newly sworn-in eleven (11) man Ijaw Youth Council, IYC National executive in order of priority.

National President: Comrade Deacon Peter Timothy Igbifa

Deputy National President: Comrade Saviour Olali

EkerefeSecretary General: Comrade Frank Pukon

Assistant Secretary General: Comrade Amafana Otti

Spokesman: Comrade Ebilade Ekerefe

Financial Secretary: Comrade Sunny Ebiye

Treasurer: Comrade Timilaemi Ebifiobo

Woman Leader: Comrade Tina Tobusi

Legal Adviser: Comrade Obiri Ebilade Esq.

Director of Mobilization: Israel Fubara: AsstDirector of Mobilization: Ofiyou O. Dennis

Hence, we hope that those sons and daughters of Ijaw nation, that took the sacrifice, pain and stress to be present at Oporoza community in Gbaramatu Kingdom of Delta State, to elect the 8th National President and his executive members will not be in vain as the past three years have been.

Content created and supplied by: BaywoodTides (via Opera News )

Elective Convention Eric Omare Ijaw Youth Council Niger Delta Peretubo Oweilaemi


Load app to read more comments